Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Do It Yourself > Home Theater

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-20-2009, 08:57 AM   #1
pjm
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 110
Share |
Default

Controling volume with cable remote


I'm not sure if anyone can help me with this problem, but here goes. I recently purchased my first hdtv and a speaker system with it. The speaker system is more like a pc speaker system with a volume control. When I originally hooked up the tv I was using the component cables and I was able to control the volume with my cablevision remote. Now that I've switched to the hdmi cable I have lost the feature to control the volume through the cable box. I have to use the volume control on the speakers. any ideas what I might need to do to solve this problem? It's a cablevision box and like I said when I used the component cable it worked fine with the hdmi the sound can't be controled.

any help or advice would be great.

If you need any additional info let me know as well.

pjm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2009, 08:04 PM   #2
Remodeling Contractor
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sandy Hook, CT
Posts: 3,590
Default

Controling volume with cable remote


in the TV's menu, go to the audio section and set the TV speakers to be off.

Bob Mariani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2009, 08:05 AM   #3
pjm
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 110
Default

Controling volume with cable remote


I already have them turned off. The weird thing is when I setup the cable remote to control the volume it shows the volume bar on the tv going up and down, but it doesn't affect the volume. Thanks for your idea and I will double check it as well.
pjm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2009, 09:52 AM   #4
Zack Morriss
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: McKinney, Texas
Posts: 5
Default

Controling volume with cable remote


You should be able to use both sets of cables. Try running the audio out of the cable box into your speakers via RCA. If the cable remote is only controlling the TV volume that may be an issue with the set up of the cable remote. Also depending on weather or not the HDMI cable you are using supports audio, or the cable box HDMI out supports audio, may be another issue to look at. If your cable service does not offer 1080p HD programs or movies, then the HDMI cable is not neccessary anyway.
MorrissMediaSys is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Satellite vs. cable coaxial types? Badfish740 Home Theater 6 02-17-2009 11:00 AM
Cable issue or wiring issue? Duchey Electrical 57 12-15-2008 01:34 PM
Protect Cat6 cable near AC Power Cable? mfleming Electrical 5 10-31-2008 09:04 AM
No Signal From Tv Cable LJMSURG Electrical 17 10-11-2008 08:00 AM
Coaxial Cable Question bahaisamurai Home Theater 9 08-08-2007 02:54 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.