Can I Output Video Single Wire RCA Signal Out Of 3 Composite Ports? - Home Theater - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Do It Yourself > Home Theater

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-10-2014, 12:13 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,303
Rewards Points: 1,040
Question

Can I output video single wire RCA signal out of 3 composite ports?


My projector has a single RG-6 cable with RCA terminals running to it from the console space in the front of the room. I wanted the cable to be hidden as much as possible and I didn't run an HDMI connection because I couldn't find a way to terminate HDMI terminals on unterminated stock HDMI cable, which is how I did with RG-6 and RCA terminals. Currently, I output the video signal out of an older model DVD player, which has a single RCA output. The video quality is good and the projection size on the wall is 98# in diameter.

However, I would like to buy a streaming video box, such as Roku HD, so that I can stream movies and music from YouTube and Netflix onto my home theater system. I ruled out Apple TV as it only has HDMI out. Roku HD has HDMI, which I can use for audio, but it also has three composite ports.

My question is: can I either just use one of those three ports to connect to the single wire projector connection or can I somehow convert the signal by using all the three and then some kind of adapter? If not, what are my options for streaming with this kind of video connection setup?

Advertisement

amakarevic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2014, 01:34 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 107
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Can I output video single wire RCA signal out of 3 composite ports?


There are component video (the three outputs on your Roku) to composite video on your projector converters. But you loose the high def. composite video doesn't support high def. if you want a high def image with your current projector you will need to run HDMI. You can purchase a HDMI cable rated to run thorough walls and get pass through ports to bring the connector through the wall. No need to remove the connectors.

Advertisement

jimn01 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jimn01 For This Useful Post:
amakarevic (11-10-2014)
Old 11-10-2014, 01:55 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,303
Rewards Points: 1,040
Default

Can I output video single wire RCA signal out of 3 composite ports?


Quote:
Originally Posted by jimn01 View Post
You can purchase a HDMI cable rated to run thorough walls and get pass through ports to bring the connector through the wall. No need to remove the connectors.
I can no longer run a new cable behind the walls, I have finished the walls. All I have to work with is a single RG-6 cable running from the front to the projector. The Roku has composite ports.
amakarevic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2014, 02:26 PM   #4
Knows Enough to be Danger
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 118
Rewards Points: 175
Default

Can I output video single wire RCA signal out of 3 composite ports?


Composite is NOT HD. Composite is Yellow Video, Red & White Audio

Component is HD (ish). Red, Green, Blue Video. Same Red & White for Audio.

I would not think you'd be happy with SD picture on composite at 98". Not at all.

Could you use the existing cable as a pull string for the new HDMI? Or pull a fish tape or something? How far are we talking here?
NickTheGreat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2014, 02:29 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,303
Rewards Points: 1,040
Default

Can I output video single wire RCA signal out of 3 composite ports?


Quote:
Originally Posted by NickTheGreat View Post
Could you use the existing cable as a pull string for the new HDMI? Or pull a fish tape or something? How far are we talking here?
Doubtful. About 25 ft total. But then how do I install HDMI terminals at the ends of the wire ?
amakarevic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2014, 02:34 PM   #6
Knows Enough to be Danger
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 118
Rewards Points: 175
Default

Can I output video single wire RCA signal out of 3 composite ports?


Quote:
Originally Posted by amakarevic View Post
Doubtful. About 25 ft total. But then how do I install HDMI terminals at the ends of the wire ?
I don't think it is possible to terminate HDMI at home.

But what PJ do you have? I'd be surprised if it was built in this century and didn't at least have component video.

But I have seen things online that will adapt HDMI for Coax
http://www.milestek.com/p-13559-hdmi...-extender.aspx

Never used one, and I'd consider going wireless or cutting drywall before paying $300 for that thing. No experience with any of the wireless solutions either.
NickTheGreat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2014, 02:36 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,303
Rewards Points: 1,040
Question

Can I output video single wire RCA signal out of 3 composite ports?


Quote:
Originally Posted by NickTheGreat View Post
But what PJ do you have? I'd be surprised if it was built in this century and didn't at least have component video.
But if that would entail running two more cables between the input device and the projector, that is out of consideration. Can it be done using a single cable?
amakarevic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2014, 04:00 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 1,174
Rewards Points: 1,464
Default

Can I output video single wire RCA signal out of 3 composite ports?


Quote:
Originally Posted by amakarevic View Post
Can it be done using a single cable?
What you're asking for is not possible for a hi def picture. You need either component (3 rca wires) or a hdmi cable.
Bob Sanders is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Bob Sanders For This Useful Post:
amakarevic (11-10-2014)
Old 11-10-2014, 04:09 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,303
Rewards Points: 1,040
Default

Can I output video single wire RCA signal out of 3 composite ports?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Sanders View Post
What you're asking for is not possible for a hi def picture. You need either component (3 rca wires) or a hdmi cable.
Thanks. The setup I have right now is fine. Not HD but okay.
amakarevic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2014, 10:14 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 548
Rewards Points: 562
Default

Can I output video single wire RCA signal out of 3 composite ports?


If your projector can handle the full HD level, then this is what you need:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...9SIA2P20V62780


The Ethereal units are higher priced than many, but they DO work, while many other cheaper versions MAY work.


Run all your sources through an AVR for switching and audio, then use the HDMI over coax extender to feed the projector the full 1080P signal.


Not cheap, but certainly the best way.
ktkelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2014, 10:14 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 1,174
Rewards Points: 1,464
Default

Can I output video single wire RCA signal out of 3 composite ports?


Quote:
Originally Posted by ktkelly View Post
If your projector can handle the full HD level, then this is what you need:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...9SIA2P20V62780
That product lists for a whopping 874 bucks and for that you only get hdmi 1.3 so I fail to see it as the "best way". For 800 bucks you could easily hire a pro to snake the proper cable (hdmi).

http://www.etherealhometheater.com/e...00-meters.html
Bob Sanders is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2014, 11:43 AM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,303
Rewards Points: 1,040
Default

Can I output video single wire RCA signal out of 3 composite ports?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Sanders View Post
For 800 bucks you could easily hire a pro to snake the proper cable (hdmi).
How do you know the innards for my house and what it would take to "snake the proper cable" ? not everybody lives in a cookie cutter suburban townhouse you take for a norm.
amakarevic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2014, 02:14 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 107
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Can I output video single wire RCA signal out of 3 composite ports?


What is the brand and model of your projector. We need to know what the RG6 connection on the projector supports. We might be able to find a solution that makes sense for you.
jimn01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2014, 04:21 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 1,174
Rewards Points: 1,464
Default

Can I output video single wire RCA signal out of 3 composite ports?


Quote:
Originally Posted by amakarevic View Post
How do you know the innards for my house and what it would take to "snake the proper cable" ? not everybody lives in a cookie cutter suburban townhouse you take for a norm.
Okay.... If you think it's a great deal instead of running the proper cable... then knock yourself out.

Let us know how well it works for you.
Bob Sanders is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2014, 04:30 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,303
Rewards Points: 1,040
Default

Can I output video single wire RCA signal out of 3 composite ports?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Sanders View Post
Okay.... If you think it's a great deal instead of running the proper cable... then knock yourself out.
i was referring to the all the prevalent mentality on this forum of making recommendations "to do things right" without any context familiarity with the surrounding circumstances and environment whatsoever ...

Advertisement

amakarevic is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
home theater , rca , rg-6 , streaming


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sharing Neutrals on the same phase electro Electrical 30 08-12-2010 03:10 PM
3 wire romex for single switch jraf Electrical 4 04-06-2010 09:46 PM
HALP! Master/Remote Dimmer troubles! Confuserated Electrical 9 02-12-2010 04:30 PM
4 switches on a single wire dukewalsh Electrical 4 08-30-2009 06:57 PM
Adding 4 Recessed Lights to single wire themayor Electrical 5 02-05-2009 05:08 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts