Can Conduit Be Used To Shield "short" Runs? - Home Theater - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Do It Yourself > Home Theater

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-24-2007, 11:37 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 121
Rewards Points: 75
Question

Can conduit be used to shield "short" runs?


I'm looking to include an in-line audio VC (volume control). But, the best location would be right next to the light switches (some with dimmers) and that would mean the audio cable run would have to be placed near and mostly in parallel to the electrical lines for about 6+ feet (2-ways) into and out of the VC.

Here are some ideas on what to do:
-- buy conduit for either the electrical runs or the audio run to cancel/limit the EMI/RFI issues. Concerns: (a) does it work? (b) which one should I run thru the conduit? audio or electrical?
-- buy a run of shielded in-wall audio cable, and hope it cancels this areas' EMI/RFI issues. Concerns: (a) too expensive to buy for all the wiring I'm wanting to do. (b) Is it available somewhere (online, big box, etc.) for this one run? (c) won't it have to be grounded back at the source hub? And if so... How do I do that with a standard HT audio faceplate?
-- buy all (or just a run of) twisted-pair in-wall audio cable, and hope it cancels this areas' EMI/RFI issues. Concerns: (a) does it work? (b) value per cost if I buy enough for the entire wiring job. (c) Is it available somewhere (online, big box, etc.) for this one run?

Advertisement

1655graff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2007, 01:47 PM   #2
not a total Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 51
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Can conduit be used to shield "short" runs?


I'd put the A/V stuff in copper pipe if you can make it happen...saw it in one of my old physics labs.

There are plenty of A/V specific forums online, and they are probably full of people who have faced this exact issue. avsforum dot com for instance (of which I have no actual affiliation.)

Advertisement

space_coyote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2007, 10:03 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 547
Rewards Points: 560
Default

Can conduit be used to shield "short" runs?


Speaker level wiring will be fine in that situation.

The main concern would be that you do use other than paralell wire like lampcord and that it be rated for inwall usage.
ktkelly is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ice and Water Shield hansemx1 Roofing/Siding 19 11-07-2012 10:32 PM
Pvc Conduit bobo60 Electrical 1 11-14-2007 10:52 PM
Conduit issues - help needed nymackem Electrical 19 11-05-2007 07:45 AM
Remodeling upper...existing runs to the basement? wease Electrical 3 02-11-2007 11:49 AM
Conduit through basement wall. bdalekid Electrical 13 01-31-2007 09:35 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts