Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Do It Yourself > Home Theater

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 10-09-2009, 05:57 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Cabling suggestions for new/old home

Hi there,

I'm new to the DIY forums. Looks like a great resource! I recently bought a home. It's a single level and has a crawl space under the floor and an attic.

Currently...the TV cable comes into the bottom of the house and feeds to the living room and great room. I need to feed it to my home office as well for my cable modem and to, of course, be able to watch TV on my PC monitor. The easy solution is to split off the cable in the crawl space and feed it up and install a jack. But...being a guy who likes thinking things out for the long haul, I'm wondering if now is the time to reroute the cable in the attic instead. It's much more pleasant to do wiring up there than in the crawlspace. The other idea I have is whether I should mount a distribution box in the hall closet and then run from there. Not sure what the advantages are to that. I would most likely run network cable while I was at it. I guess I have been intrigued by some of the newer homes that are prewired like this.

Am looking for comments and suggestions.

Thanks, Steve

swilson317 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2009, 10:34 PM   #2
Retired from the grind

Rewards Points: 2,240

Feed to a Central point such as a attached garage, or indoor utility room. From there, you should be able to pull Ethernet, Coax, and Telephone. If you can afford Octopus cabling, that would work even better. Do not connect in the Attic, because the next home owner may not like it, and it is a ***** to work on during Summer months with the heat. Do yourself a favor, and keep the connections in the interior space. Why do you think that offices have connections in the interior, vs. in the drop ceilings.

gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2009, 11:23 PM   #3