Cable Without A Box Splitting Video And Audio - Home Theater - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Do It Yourself > Home Theater


CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-06-2010, 12:07 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,316
Rewards Points: 1,062
Question

cable without a box splitting video and audio


i have basic cable without a cable box. but i want to output video on my projector and audio on my receiver. however, the cable has only one F-connector output, so how do i do this ? it would be easier if i just output it to a TV and used the speakers within TV but i am using separate components.

Advertisement

amakarevic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2010, 01:17 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 7,895
Rewards Points: 1,396
Default


Will not work. A "tv channel" 2 through 51 or a "cable channel" 2 through 200 or whatever must be converted (downconverted) to a "video" signal and an "audio" signal. Then a video cable (and an audio cable) can feed your projector and audio/video receiver.

You need a "box" of electronics, not just a cable or splitter. A TV set (not just a monitor) has the needed electronics inside it. Any VCR will downconvert channels 2 through 13 if they are analog as transmitted over the cable and not scrambled. A "cable ready" VCR will downconvert more of the unscrambled channels. The only way to be assured of getting all the channels you subscribed to is to use the appropriate cable box.

Advertisement

__________________
The good conscientious technician or serviceperson will carry extra oils and lubricants in case the new pump did not come with oil or the oil was accidentally spilled, so the service call can be completed without an extra visit.

Last edited by AllanJ; 05-06-2010 at 01:24 PM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to AllanJ For This Useful Post:
amakarevic (05-06-2010)
Old 05-06-2010, 01:20 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,316
Rewards Points: 1,062
Exclamation


yeah but Comcast didn't give me one, yet they said i get basic cable.
amakarevic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2010, 10:26 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 7,895
Rewards Points: 1,396
Default


In some cities the cable company gives you the choice of renting one of their cable boxes, or buying and connecting your own. Here you do not automatically get a box from the cable company. Some models of cable boxes use a slide-in credit card sized card with a chip inside to unscramble the premium channels (if any) included in your subscription level. You get this from the cable company.
__________________
The good conscientious technician or serviceperson will carry extra oils and lubricants in case the new pump did not come with oil or the oil was accidentally spilled, so the service call can be completed without an extra visit.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

 

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1