Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Do It Yourself > Home Theater

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-06-2010, 11:07 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,283
Rewards Points: 1,014
Question

cable without a box splitting video and audio


i have basic cable without a cable box. but i want to output video on my projector and audio on my receiver. however, the cable has only one F-connector output, so how do i do this ? it would be easier if i just output it to a TV and used the speakers within TV but i am using separate components.

amakarevic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2010, 12:17 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,965
Rewards Points: 2,026
Default

cable without a box splitting video and audio


Will not work. A "tv channel" 2 through 51 or a "cable channel" 2 through 200 or whatever must be converted (downconverted) to a "video" signal and an "audio" signal. Then a video cable (and an audio cable) can feed your projector and audio/video receiver.

You need a "box" of electronics, not just a cable or splitter. A TV set (not just a monitor) has the needed electronics inside it. Any VCR will downconvert channels 2 through 13 if they are analog as transmitted over the cable and not scrambled. A "cable ready" VCR will downconvert more of the unscrambled channels. The only way to be assured of getting all the channels you subscribed to is to use the appropriate cable box.

__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.

Last edited by AllanJ; 05-06-2010 at 12:24 PM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to AllanJ For This Useful Post:
amakarevic (05-06-2010)
Old 05-06-2010, 12:20 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,283
Rewards Points: 1,014
Exclamation

cable without a box splitting video and audio


yeah but Comcast didn't give me one, yet they said i get basic cable.
amakarevic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2010, 09:26 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,965
Rewards Points: 2,026
Default

cable without a box splitting video and audio


In some cities the cable company gives you the choice of renting one of their cable boxes, or buying and connecting your own. Here you do not automatically get a box from the cable company. Some models of cable boxes use a slide-in credit card sized card with a chip inside to unscramble the premium channels (if any) included in your subscription level. You get this from the cable company.
__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.