Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Do It Yourself > Home Theater

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-11-2010, 11:50 AM   #16
Jack of all - master none
 
hyunelan2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SW Suburbs of Chicago
Posts: 1,207
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Cable wiring for antenna + internet


I see it for myself on a daily basis and it is annoying. I did not need AVS Forums to show me that, but I wanted to post a link so people could see what I was talking about if they were unfamiliar. Everything may have motion blur, but Comcast has more than the others (save DirectTV in bad weather).

Quote:
The signal is picked up by the antenna, and distributed by the coax/flat ribbon in the house through an amplifier & splitter. Same way that is done by CATV providers.
Right, I get that. What I was/am unsure of is whether hooking an antenna up to the same wire network carrying Comcast data would be detrimental to the Comcast signal, or even effective with the Comcast signal being carried on the same line. I could understand it absolutely not working if you were trying to push Comcast and DirectTV/UVerse/FiOS/etc through the same cable, but since the antenna is only a passive source would it impede the provider signal?

I would say possibly if I hooked up a signal amplifier, but just hooking up an antenna should not kill off Comcast's signal? Though, I could see a good chance that the TVs simply would not be able to 'see' the antenna signal as the Comcast signal would drown it out.

hyunelan2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2010, 12:15 PM   #17
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,134
Rewards Points: 16
Default

Cable wiring for antenna + internet


You can not hook both the OTA antenna coax to the coax from the internet provider. Both need to stay separate. Direct line from the pole/pedestal to your cable modem, distribution of antenna signal uses the existing coax for the tv sets, that comcast had previously used. Your third drawing is pretty much showing you the answer that you have been asking the same question about plain and simple.
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2010, 12:16 PM   #18
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Cable wiring for antenna + internet


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
May want to throughly read it again nap. As for splitting if a person has both tv & internet, using the wrong splitters can make a mess of the signal, which accounts for the majority of the trouble calls for catv techs, incorrect equipment placed on the line by the end user/home owner/renter.
my apologies. I knew that because I do remember reading it the first time. For some reason it didn't stick.


but other than that, the rest is the same.


Quote:
but since the antenna is only a passive source would it impede the provider signal?
the antennae is no more passive or active than the Comcast signal.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2010, 12:24 PM   #19
Jack of all - master none
 
hyunelan2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SW Suburbs of Chicago
Posts: 1,207
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Cable wiring for antenna + internet


Alright, what I figured is looking to be true (3rd picture). Let's keep discussing a few things though.

Quote:
Originally Posted by nap View Post
the antennae is no more passive or active than the Comcast signal.
Even in the era of switched digital signals? When you used to just screw the cable into the TV, I could see the signal being relatively passive. Now that we need Cable Boxes or DTA converters on every TV in order to get a signal out of them (which work by requesting the channel, then receiving the "switched" stream signal from the provider) - the provider has to "push" the channel though.

It was Comcast's way of being able to cram 10 pounds of 'junk' in a 5 pound bag. By using switched digital, all the channels are not going through the wire at once -eating bandwidth, only the ones requested by the Cable Box / DTA boxes are sent. Would this sent signal not be more actively projected than something passive like an antenna?



Again, I get what the answer to my situation is - I'm just asking some additional questions for understanding.
hyunelan2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2010, 02:00 PM   #20
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,134
Rewards Points: 16
Default

Cable wiring for antenna + internet


CC is not trying to cram anything down the end user's throat. They are going back to what was previously done for subscribers to get service, and that is use a Digital Set Top Box that understands the encryption scheme. Since you are in Chicago, and CC is using a 100% digital system, there is no way to just watch tv without the box. Same with Satellite & U-Verse.

The future model for CC will be what ATT uses for their U-Verse system, and that is when users select a channel to watch, only that channel is being pushed through the system, vs. all channels at the same time.
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2010, 11:28 PM   #21
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 20
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Cable wiring for antenna + internet


Makes no sense to mess with your internet signal at all!

TNTRob is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
wiring zone valve help paul1968uk Electrical 5 03-31-2010 10:34 AM
slow....................internet RichyL PC Repairs & Upgrades 16 10-20-2009 07:57 AM
Protect Cat6 cable near AC Power Cable? mfleming Electrical 5 10-31-2008 09:04 AM
electric wiring for fluorescent lamp toronbolo Electrical 3 03-24-2008 12:16 PM
Coaxial Cable Question bahaisamurai Home Theater 9 08-08-2007 02:54 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.