Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Do It Yourself > Home Theater

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-15-2012, 03:06 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,283
Rewards Points: 1,014
Default

cable box -> TV -- how many cables to run?


i am asking this because i am doing in-wall wiring between TV and cable box (or Google TV) locations. if i were to output sound, in addition of video, through the TV, how many wires total (or component cables) do i need to run between the two? and of those how many are for video and how many are for audio?

i have already done one such connection and used, i think 7 RG6 cables, but i think it may be too many.

amakarevic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2012, 03:26 PM   #2
bbo
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Packerland !!
Posts: 1,016
Rewards Points: 500
Default

cable box -> TV -- how many cables to run?


1 - HDMI
or

1 - RG6

what are you running?

bbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2012, 03:29 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,283
Rewards Points: 1,014
Default

cable box -> TV -- how many cables to run?


Quote:
Originally Posted by bbo View Post
1 - RG6
doesn't it need more than that?
amakarevic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2012, 04:19 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,283
Rewards Points: 1,014
Default

cable box -> TV -- how many cables to run?


E.g. this wall plate has 6 RCAs, in addition to an HDMI

Name:  ForumRunner_20120915_171916.jpg
Views: 107
Size:  24.3 KB
amakarevic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 10:27 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

cable box -> TV -- how many cables to run?


1 hdmi is all you need from the receiver to the tv if it is a hi-def tv
directvman is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to directvman For This Useful Post:
amakarevic (09-16-2012)
Old 09-17-2012, 06:17 AM   #6
bbo
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Packerland !!
Posts: 1,016
Rewards Points: 500
Default

cable box -> TV -- how many cables to run?


You would also need the component cables if you planned to use those other connections.
but I would still run cables for the other connections if you bought that one.

there are many wall plates out there to fit whatever cabling needs you may have.
bbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2012, 03:51 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

cable box -> TV -- how many cables to run?


I kinda like the whisker biscuit plate you just run what ever cables yo need through it and it covers the hole works really nice with a mud box you can run hdmi, speaker wires, coax, component, composite, power cords, or what ever you need
Attached Thumbnails
cable box -> TV -- how many cables to run?-image-2189239178.jpg   cable box -> TV -- how many cables to run?-image-1274518248.jpg   cable box -> TV -- how many cables to run?-image-816233005.jpg  
directvman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2012, 04:14 PM   #8
bbo
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Packerland !!
Posts: 1,016
Rewards Points: 500
Default

cable box -> TV -- how many cables to run?


i like those as well DTVman. no need to worry about inserts and particular connections. also less connections to worry about.

and fyi for op, the orange thing is the low voltage ring. no need to put an elec box in if only using low voltage wires.
bbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2012, 10:34 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 532
Rewards Points: 530
Default

cable box -> TV -- how many cables to run?


I noticed that no one asked, and you didn't state, what is the distance between the two?


Personally, I would run a nice piece of conduit kie this: http://www.amazon.com/Carlon-SCJ4X1C...conduit+1+inch


This way you could run whatever cabling you might want to add later.



FWIW: You could run either HDMI or component video over the RG6 that you've already installed. Might also be a good idea to run a couple Cat6 cables to give yourself another out.
ktkelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 01:44 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: So. Central PA
Posts: 124
Rewards Points: 85
Default

cable box -> TV -- how many cables to run?


What you "need" depends on what you have now, and what you might have down the road. In-wall wiring is cleaner, but it comes at an expense, especially if it's a retro-fit on already finished walls, not to mention you're supposed to run in-wall rated cables and such when doing so.

If you're dead set on in-wall, have at it. If not, you could use surface mount raceways, and with them have just about infinite flexibility down the road. They're not the most aesthetically pleasing, but they can be painted to match the walls and sort of blend in. Stuff like this -

http://www.bestbuy.com/site/olstempl...c=abcat0100000

Just be aware that the adhesive backed channels, once adhered, are adhered to stay....ask me how I know....LOL

For the audio/video cabling, forget RG-X coax, unless you just gotta have it. Component video + RCA or optical audio, or HDMI for both, or HDMI video and RCA or optical audio. Cabling also depends on your current rig, if nothing more than box + TV, HDMI would be the cleanest/easiest, assuming both box and TV are compatible. If you have, or plan to, go with a receiver or pre/amp set up for audio, that changes things.

If you have, or get, a HT receiver, they all pretty much have HDMI switching, the only variable is how many HDMI inputs they have. So, you could have a central receiver with HDMI in for cable, DVD, and game console of choice. Then you get the better sound along with video switching with only three cables run.

Chokingdogs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What's the deal with these cables next to my main panel? bobsmithhome Electrical 12 02-26-2012 10:38 PM
Is Tray Cable acceptable for Residential use? MisterSteve Electrical 43 02-21-2012 12:35 AM
crispy cable! Why wouldn't a breaker trip? morganhammer Electrical 4 04-05-2011 11:33 AM
Satellite vs. cable coaxial types? Badfish740 Home Theater 6 02-17-2009 11:00 AM
No Signal From Tv Cable LJMSURG Electrical 17 10-11-2008 08:00 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.