DIY Home Improvement Forum banner

50" plasma speaker placement

4K views 5 replies 4 participants last post by  Leah Frances 
#1 ·
Going to be purchasing a 50" Plasma. I have inwall speakers to go around it. Just wondering how to place them. Like how far from the sides of the Tv. Also where to place the center channel top or bottom. One more question how high to mount tv off of floor.

#2 ·
It will be interesting to hear about how far to mount the speakers. I'm thinking of getting in-wall speakers...but if I have, say a 42" tv and want to upgrade to a 55", I would have to move the speakers in the future. What if I get a 55" tv now and then a 65" when they come out in a few years? So yeah, it will be interesting to hear about this.

I'm *wondering* if you should just mount the speakers on the outside edge and the center one up high....kind of like they do in theaters... but i'm no expert here.

About the mounting height of the tv, here's what I did. Sit down on your couch and take a laser and shoot it at the wall at about eyeball height. Center the tv a few inches above it. At first, I thought it was low, but it's nice to look forward at the TV and not get neck cramps.

Also, check out crutchfield.com. They have some good advice for installations.

#3 · (Edited)
Speaker Positions

The TV mounting height depends a bit on the ceiling height. But generally speaking with a TV the size of yours about 36" inches from the floor to the TV bottom should be a good place to start. If it looks a little too high I would go down closer to 30" floor to bottom instead of up.

Place the side speakers centered on the height that the TV is mounted. If the speakers are not as tall as the TV then center them according their measurements. This will place the stereo acoustic image dead center on the TV.