Your Internet Connection - Networking - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Do It Yourself > PC Repairs & Upgrades > Networking

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Poll: How do you connect to the Internet?
Poll Options
How do you connect to the Internet?

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-04-2004, 01:58 PM   #16
Member
 
Grumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Chicago
Posts: 588
Rewards Points: 500
Send a message via AIM to Grumpy Send a message via MSN to Grumpy Send a message via Yahoo to Grumpy
Default

Your Internet Connection


hatchet contact any isp in your area. For example earthlink and SBC service our area but a few other services fall short by a few streets.

Advertisement

__________________
-Grumpy
Chicago Roofing Chicago Gutters

Sometimes the savings that comes from doing it yourself can be blown away with one mistake.

The information found in this post is not to be considered legal advice. All information should be considered relative, not specific. Never attempt any repairs you are not comfortable with. Always maintain safety! The author of this post takes no responsibility for any losses that occur. Use at your own risk.
Grumpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2004, 04:08 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 67
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Your Internet Connection


I can't use a dial-up. The smart home system needs at least 500Kbps upload and download for movies and controlling from a remote terminal. So broadband providers need a phoneline or cable - the phoneline has some outdated software on it (Paragon??) so we can't use DSL and cable doesn't come out this far.
hatchet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2005, 01:33 AM   #18
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Your Internet Connection


i will like to somebody to give me some tips on loggin on to yahoo website
OTYl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2005, 01:35 AM   #19
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Your Internet Connection


www@.la bella.com
OTYl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2005, 01:37 AM   #20
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Cool

Your Internet Connection


givde the head up on yahoo .com
OTYl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2005, 06:50 PM   #21
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 15
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Your Internet Connection


I just have to brag a little here.

RCN 7Mbps Cable connection, 13ms avg pings to google. They just upgraded their system to 10Mbps and keep bumping me up to the next level down:D
giddonah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2005, 06:59 PM   #22
Contractor
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Jensen Beach, FL
Posts: 835
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Your Internet Connection


I just pinged Adelphia cable and got 3035.7 KBPS, this is 'rush hour' here.
Teetorbilt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2005, 07:03 PM   #23
LJD
Reformed Pirate
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: left side of your screen
Posts: 57
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Your Internet Connection


Quote:
Originally Posted by Nathan
How do you connect to the internet?

This type of information helps me when designing the site.
If this information really helps you in designing the site, why don't you ask about it during the registration process, rather than asking everyone to give it publicly? It's a fairly innocuous question, but some people are sensitive about weird stuff. For example, me. I would NEVER tell you how I connect the internet. But I'm just funny that way. Besides, it's top secret; something most people haven't even heard of at this point in the technology timeline.

Anyway, if you collected the data during the signup, you could shunt it directly into a spreadsheet or database and it would be ready to help with no manipulation! Just a suggestion, Nathan. By the way.....exactly how does this information help you design the site? Just curious.

Floyd
__________________
I use only Buffalo tools, and I'm always happy to loan them out!
LJD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2005, 07:09 PM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 160
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Your Internet Connection


Quote:
Originally Posted by Teetorbilt
I just pinged Adelphia cable and got 3035.7 KBPS, this is 'rush hour' here.
How do you guys 'ping' your ISP's? I have a lin to a test site maintained by 'Speakeasy' but don't know if it's accurate. Just got 3210 KB down and 358 KB up.
pipeguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2005, 07:58 PM   #25
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 15
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Your Internet Connection


To ping a site:

Start>Programs>Accessories>Command Prompt

In the black window that opens, type this:

C:\>ping google.com


you can ping by url or by IP. It will return the results from four requests and time their return (or time out in my case here at work since I'm behind some voracious firewalls)
giddonah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2005, 08:16 PM   #26
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 160
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Your Internet Connection


cool -thanks. your performance stats are astounding.
pipeguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2005, 08:34 PM   #27
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 15
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Your Internet Connection


one of the perks of living in manhattan
giddonah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2005, 08:35 PM   #28
Contractor
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Jensen Beach, FL
Posts: 835
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Your Internet Connection


I use Cnet.
Teetorbilt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2005, 11:47 PM   #29
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 35
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Your Internet Connection


Quote:
Originally Posted by Teetorbilt
I just pinged Adelphia cable and got 3035.7 KBPS, this is 'rush hour' here.
What?? Pings aren't measured in KBPS, they are measured in ms (milliseconds). KBPS is Kilo Bits Per Second, that my friend, is called bandwidth.
toolbag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2005, 12:23 AM   #30
Contractor
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Jensen Beach, FL
Posts: 835
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Your Internet Connection


toolbag, you are correct. I used the wrong term. I deal more with marine electronics and we ping sattelites and fixed bases. I also use a program that keeps my computer synchronised, it pings the clock as well.
I should have said bandwidth check? I'm getting 3264 now. I miss fortran, basic,applespeak......

Advertisement

Teetorbilt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
deck - beam to post connection (??) brocasArea001 Carpentry 21 05-11-2011 09:39 PM
3 wire stove connection bgoldie Electrical 13 03-01-2011 01:29 PM
Post to Piling connection george514 Building & Construction 4 06-07-2007 11:23 AM
Bathtub drain and w&O overflow connection Manuel6 Plumbing 5 11-03-2006 12:23 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts