Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Do It Yourself > PC Repairs & Upgrades > Networking

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-27-2010, 11:20 AM   #1
Member
 
yummy mummy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,723
Share |
Default

Yes, not computer savvy, but can I put my desktop on router


I want to put a desktop in the basement, but my router and modem are upstairs because that is where the cable for the internet comes in.

Can I make it communicate with my router for internet like a laptop?
I know this may be a dumb question but I am not that computer savvy, only enough to get by........lol


Thanks
yummy mummy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2010, 12:20 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

Yes, not computer savvy, but can I put my desktop on router


If you mean wireless...Yes
You can buy a USB wireless adapter or a wireless network card to go in the computer
Speed will generally be reduced - slower then hard wired
This is assuming your router is a wireless router

I prefer to get a longer patch cord & run that to the PC
Luckily the area where the router was located was in the basement (unfininished) below where the PC upstairs is located
So plugging in the basement PC & one upstairs was easy
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2010, 03:23 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,794
Default

Yes, not computer savvy, but can I put my desktop on router


Wireless router at the internet connection point - wireless USB adapter in the desktop computer.

The Cisco Valet wireless products you may have recently seen advertised on television are very easy to set up, to include the needed security features.

Another of my favorite wireless USB adapters is from Hawking Technologies - it includes a dish anttenna to focus the radio signal - it will provide a stonger signal that can help to penetrate walls and a higher data rate resulting in a faster connection. http://www.hawkingtech.com/products/...=33&ProdID=379
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2010, 08:34 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Louisville
Posts: 455
Default

Yes, not computer savvy, but can I put my desktop on router


You could also look into powerline networking.

http://www.homeplug.org/home/
cellophane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2010, 01:56 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: PA
Posts: 73
Default

Yes, not computer savvy, but can I put my desktop on router


I've got three of these running through the house right now. Just plug one end into your router and the other end into your computer. Works great. Local brick-and-mortar prices for these cables are extreme, but I've always used newegg with great results.

Someday the structured wiring will happen...

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...-309-_-Product

Last edited by itin1200; 05-26-2010 at 04:33 PM.
itin1200 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2010, 03:46 PM   #6
Portland Home Remodeling
 
PortlandRemodel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 20
Default

Yes, not computer savvy, but can I put my desktop on router


The in-wall stuff works great and may be easier to use than wireless since you've already got the desktop (aka. anchor)
PortlandRemodel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2010, 06:55 PM   #7
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Default

Yes, not computer savvy, but can I put my desktop on router


Quote:
Yes, not computer savvy, but can I put my desktop on router
yes, but since the routers are almost always much smaller than the computer, I would set the router to the side rather than under the computer.>
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
wireless router install problems Knucklez PC Repairs & Upgrades 27 08-24-2010 08:18 AM
Shutoff switch for custom Router Table. mfleming Electrical 14 11-13-2008 12:50 PM
Please Help - Weird electrical issue affecting home network sxpsxpsxp Electrical 23 02-03-2008 11:42 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.