Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Do It Yourself > PC Repairs & Upgrades > Networking

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-06-2010, 08:52 AM   #1
New House Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Sioux Falls, SD
Posts: 141
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Wierd NIC issue (both wired and wireless)


I have a friends laptop that can not connect to the internet. So I connect to their wireless network with good signal. Open up IE and cannot connect even though I am connected to the network. Try wired connection, same thing. Bring the laptop to my home network, same thing. I can ping itself, the gateway, and my server. I cannot ping google, it does not even come up and say pinging xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx with 32 bits of data when I try to ping outside the LAN. So I figured its a setting. I made sure all checkboxes with the proxy are unchecked. All IP's are obtained automatically.

Am I missing a setting somewhere? Or any other ideas?

P.S I am using my home network right now so internet access works

C_J_GO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2010, 09:48 AM   #2
New House Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Sioux Falls, SD
Posts: 141
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Wierd NIC issue (both wired and wireless)


I just realized that I cannot connect to any other machine on my network either. The laptop only sees itself on the workgroup.

C_J_GO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2010, 09:55 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 82
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Wierd NIC issue (both wired and wireless)


First thing is see if your firewall is turned on. Go to your services in control panel > Admin Tools > Services and try shutting down the Windows Firewall and ICS service. Then try again. Google does allow you to ping your serves, but if you are not getting the message that you are attempting to ping an IP address, your DNS may not be able to look it up for some reason.

Try that, then report back.
DAdams982 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2010, 10:01 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 97
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Wierd NIC issue (both wired and wireless)


are you getting a valid IP address?

169.xxx.xxx.xxx is not valid

Do an ipconfig /all from the command prompt and let me know what is displayed.



1. I would start by powering off the router for a few seconds
2. Check the NIC for a static IP. lots of companys set up static IPs on computers but not usually laptops.
3. Does this computer get on networks elsewere?

Like the above poster stated, the firewall may be blocking things. especially if it's a Symantec/Norton crap product.
bigcaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2010, 10:10 AM   #5
New House Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Sioux Falls, SD
Posts: 141
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Wierd NIC issue (both wired and wireless)


Alright, i stopped the firewall/ICS service and it still cannot hit the internet. Pinging all the same with the same results.

Wire NIC is disconnected
Wireless NIC
IP: 192.168.1.108 (it is DHCP)
Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0
IP Adress: fe80::214:a5ff:fe69:da7a%7
Default Gateway: 192.168.1.1
DHCP Server: 192.168.1.1
DNS Servers: 216.16.0.2 and 216.16.0.4
Leased Obtained August 6th expring on August 7

Then it shows 2 tunnel adapter teredo tunneling pseudo-interfaces
-Not sure what these are
C_J_GO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2010, 10:10 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 82
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Wierd NIC issue (both wired and wireless)


Quote:
Originally Posted by bigcaddy View Post
are you getting a valid IP address?

169.xxx.xxx.xxx is not valid

Do an ipconfig /all from the command prompt and let me know what is displayed.



1. I would start by powering off the router for a few seconds
2. Check the NIC for a static IP. lots of companys set up static IPs on computers but not usually laptops.
3. Does this computer get on networks elsewere?

Like the above poster stated, the firewall may be blocking things. especially if it's a Symantec/Norton crap product.
This, do an ipconfig /all and copy and paste that here.
DAdams982 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2010, 10:12 AM   #7
New House Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Sioux Falls, SD
Posts: 141
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Wierd NIC issue (both wired and wireless)


Quote:
Originally Posted by DAdams982 View Post
This, do an ipconfig /all and copy and paste that here.
I can't since I cannot get out the internet nor can I push the image across the network to another computer...unless I am missing an option?

It has Avast AV on it and I ran a full scan and found not threats.
C_J_GO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2010, 10:14 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 82
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Wierd NIC issue (both wired and wireless)


to check DNS go to cmd and run: nslookup google.com

You should get a few timeouts, then a non-authoriative answer beginning with 209.85.xx.xx

Quote:
Originally Posted by C_J_GO View Post
I can't since I cannot get out the internet nor can I push the image across the network to another computer...unless I am missing an option?
What you transcribed earlier was good enough.
DAdams982 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2010, 10:17 AM   #9
New House Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Sioux Falls, SD
Posts: 141
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Wierd NIC issue (both wired and wireless)


Quote:
Originally Posted by DAdams982 View Post
to check DNS go to cmd and run: nslookup google.com

You should get a few timeouts, then a non-authoriative answer beginning with 209.85.xx.xx
Ran this and all timed out with error message saying "can't find server name for address 216.16.0.2" and the same for the 216.16.0.4 DNS
C_J_GO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2010, 10:20 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 97
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Wierd NIC issue (both wired and wireless)


Ok, so your getting a valid IP from your router.

Open your internet explorer and select Tools/Internet Options/Connections TAB/LAN Settings button/ Make sure nothing is selected in there.

Was this computer ever on a Novell network?


Ok, bad DNS I see above

ipconfig /flushdns
ipconfig /registerdns

also did you unplug the router yet?
bigcaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2010, 10:22 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 82
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Wierd NIC issue (both wired and wireless)


Try an ipconfig /release, then run ipconfig /renew and see if you pull any different DNS configs.

Go to your network properties and chose look at your TCP/IP properties for your wireless NIC, is the option check to pull DNS from the DHCP server? or is it set statically?
DAdams982 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2010, 10:26 AM   #12
New House Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Sioux Falls, SD
Posts: 141
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Wierd NIC issue (both wired and wireless)


Quote:
Originally Posted by DAdams982 View Post
Try an ipconfig /release, then run ipconfig /renew and see if you pull any different DNS configs.

Go to your network properties and chose look at your TCP/IP properties for your wireless NIC, is the option check to pull DNS from the DHCP server? or is it set statically?
Power cycled router, flushed and registered DNS without any errors. The computer I am using right now is using the same DNS obviously without any problems.

The IP and DNS are set to obtain automatically.
C_J_GO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2010, 10:32 AM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 97
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Wierd NIC issue (both wired and wireless)


can you ping 192.168.1.1?
bigcaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2010, 10:33 AM   #14
New House Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Sioux Falls, SD
Posts: 141
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Wierd NIC issue (both wired and wireless)


Quote:
Originally Posted by bigcaddy View Post
can you ping 192.168.1.1?
Yes and also 1921.68.1.111 which is my server, but cannot navigate to them as the only computer the shows up in the workgroup is itself.
C_J_GO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2010, 10:35 AM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 97
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Wierd NIC issue (both wired and wireless)


ok, I just saw that you have a server. does that handle all your DHCP and DNS?

is your server in a workgroup or domain?

is it a windows home server?

bigcaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Questions about rewiring ethernet cabling in my house faromic80 Networking 8 01-27-2012 10:14 AM
wireless router install problems Knucklez PC Repairs & Upgrades 27 08-24-2010 08:18 AM
Adding a Wireless Sprinkler Timer feature... markharris Landscaping & Lawn Care 1 03-02-2009 01:41 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.