Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Do It Yourself > PC Repairs & Upgrades > Networking

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-09-2011, 09:37 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: BC,Canada
Posts: 62
Share |
Default

Turn Router into Switch


I have a Linksys WRT610N that I would like to connect to my existing network as a switch but I'm not sure how to configure it.

The linksys has settings as follows:

Internet Connection Type: (changed to static from auto)
Internet IP : ?
Subnet Mask (set 255.255.255.0)
Default Gateway (network uses 192.168.1.254, not sure what to enter)
DNS ?

Network Settings

IP address: ?(tried assigning 192.168.1.88)
Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0

DHCP Server (set to disabled)

Any help appreciated

RalphPeters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2011, 11:50 AM   #2
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,200
Default

Turn Router into Switch


What you did should work, the key is disabling DHCP. And don't use the WAN port, just use the others, and you should be fine.

Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2011, 01:42 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: BC,Canada
Posts: 62
Default

Turn Router into Switch


The router is not accepting the settings I put in.
It says ip does not match gateway, tried a few different ways but it's not accepting the settings.
RalphPeters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2011, 05:15 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: BC,Canada
Posts: 62
Default

Turn Router into Switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by Red Squirrel View Post
What you did should work, the key is disabling DHCP. And don't use the WAN port, just use the others, and you should be fine.
Thanks, seems like I was changing settings that didn't need to be. Just had to disable DHCP server and that did the trick.
RalphPeters is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No Heat: Pressure switch & Hoses forming traps Yooperman906 HVAC 22 01-04-2011 09:52 AM
1 pole + 3 way switch momof2labs Electrical 1 05-22-2010 10:37 AM
3-way light with a twist Jeepsail Electrical 14 05-18-2010 01:24 AM
3-way switch problems bobbysan Electrical 6 05-02-2010 05:48 PM
Pressure Switch, Draft Inducer, Burner Box, Problem majorapus HVAC 7 10-25-2009 06:14 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.