Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Do It Yourself > PC Repairs & Upgrades > Networking

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-11-2011, 08:03 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,088
Rewards Points: 500
Default

router problem


I think lightning damaged our modem supplied by Bell South. They sent us a refurbished Motorola. Now when I hook my DIR-615 router up, I get no service. All the lights on the router light up except the last one (globe).

When I remove the ethernet cable from the 'new' modem and put it in the port on the Dir-615, I lose online signal. It is like there is no connection between the modem and the router.

To rehash, I connect the router to the ethernet port on the desktop computer. I connect the modem and the router. No service.

When I remove the ethernet cable from the router and put it back in the modem, I get internet on the desktop. Does this mean the router is also damaged?

Thinking seriously about getting a router modem combo if I need another router.

boman47k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2011, 05:13 AM   #2
I have gas!
 
Clutchcargo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,781
Rewards Points: 1,014
Default

router problem


What type of internet connection do you have? It sounds like you need to set up the DSL connection on the router.

__________________
I tear things down and build them up.
Clutchcargo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2011, 02:55 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,088
Rewards Points: 500
Default

router problem


I'm thinking DSL high speed with Bellsouth/At&T
boman47k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2011, 03:09 PM   #4
Experienced
 
Jackofall1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Southern Michigan
Posts: 2,822
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

router problem


I believe you have to reconfigure the modem to the router. It may be as simple as the way you power it all up.

Power everything down

1. Start the modem
2. Start the Router
3. Start the desktop
__________________
When its all said and done there is usually more said than done
Jackofall1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2011, 06:07 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,088
Rewards Points: 500
Default

router problem


New router solved the problem.

Thanks.
boman47k is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Don't understand this breaker tripping problem majesticjess Electrical 10 03-05-2010 06:42 PM
crappy router table wwpro Tools 20 01-19-2010 05:30 PM
flame sensor problem junkcollector HVAC 1 12-09-2009 08:19 AM
Stymied by window leakage problem. Matth3w General DIY Discussions 5 06-11-2008 06:26 PM
Post-Tension Slab Problem Advice/Help Mike McBride Building & Construction 2 01-09-2007 01:51 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.