RJ45 Coupler. - Networking - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Do It Yourself > PC Repairs & Upgrades > Networking

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-13-2015, 01:38 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 6
Default

RJ45 coupler.


So i have an cat5e ethernet cable on the other end of my room. It is about 5-10 meters long. Can i use an RJ45 coupler to add another cable which is 5 M long to connect to my PC? Will a coupler slow down my network connection speed by A LOT?

Advertisement

sanzsmatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2015, 02:35 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 1,076
Rewards Points: 25
Default

RJ45 coupler.


The total length is well within the cat-5e specs. Every time you add a connection you have a potential loss issue and a potential to add noise. Not sure if the even make such a beast but it should be ok. I would just a new cable, but that is me

Advertisement

jimn01 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2015, 02:37 PM   #3
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 16,389
Rewards Points: 5,822
Default

RJ45 coupler.


Quote:
Originally Posted by jimn01 View Post
The total length is well within the cat-5e specs. Every time you add a connection you have a potential loss issue and a potential to add noise. Not sure if the even make such a beast but it should be ok. I would just a new cable, but that is me
They do. They are intended for phone lines.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2015, 02:47 PM   #4
Sippin' Tea
 
Sdyess's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: California
Posts: 51
Rewards Points: 110
Default

RJ45 coupler.


It will not.
Sdyess is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2015, 02:53 PM   #5
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 16,389
Rewards Points: 5,822
Default

RJ45 coupler.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Sdyess View Post
It will not.
Will not do what? It is nothing more than doing the same with a patch panel. It works in those situations where you have to get someone up and going, until you can do a proper run. In this case, the OP will most likely not even notice any problems using it.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2015, 02:54 PM   #6
Sippin' Tea
 
Sdyess's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: California
Posts: 51
Rewards Points: 110
Default

RJ45 coupler.


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
Will not do what? It is nothing more than doing the same with a patch panel. It works in those situations where you have to get someone up and going, until you can do a proper run. In this case, the OP will most likely not even notice any problems using it.
I didn't even put the rest of my comment for some reason

I agree with you, It will not loose any speed.
Sdyess is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Sdyess For This Useful Post:
gregzoll (10-13-2015)
Old 10-13-2015, 03:06 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 6
Default

RJ45 coupler.


Ok thanks people. Ill buy a coupler tomorrow. Hopefully no connection issues.
sanzsmatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2015, 09:17 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 1,363
Rewards Points: 1,064
Default

RJ45 coupler.


Why not just buy a long cable.
__________________
digitalplumber is just a name for use here, I am not a plumber!
digitalplumber is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to digitalplumber For This Useful Post:
dalepres (12-26-2015)
Old 10-13-2015, 10:07 PM   #9
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 16,389
Rewards Points: 5,822
Default

RJ45 coupler.


Quote:
Originally Posted by digitalplumber View Post
Why not just buy a long cable.
I have been known to just grab some Cat-5e out of my odds and ends and put a Keystone on each end, if I do not have a coupler. Anything works in an emergency until you can get the stuff you need in your hands.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2015, 07:11 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 1,363
Rewards Points: 1,064
Default

RJ45 coupler.


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
I have been known to just grab some Cat-5e out of my odds and ends and put a Keystone on each end, if I do not have a coupler. Anything works in an emergency until you can get the stuff you need in your hands.
Absolutely, but if he has to go buy the coupler......................
__________________
digitalplumber is just a name for use here, I am not a plumber!
digitalplumber is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to digitalplumber For This Useful Post:
dalepres (12-26-2015)
Old 10-14-2015, 07:13 AM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 6
Default

RJ45 coupler.


I'd rather take a coupler than a longer cable. In my situation, it's more comfortable.that's as long as it doesn't slow down my connection speeds. I'm a gamer and the speed is important.
sanzsmatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2015, 10:22 AM   #12
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 16,389
Rewards Points: 5,822
Default

RJ45 coupler.


Quote:
Originally Posted by sanzsmatic View Post
I'd rather take a coupler than a longer cable. In my situation, it's more comfortable.that's as long as it doesn't slow down my connection speeds. I'm a gamer and the speed is important.
Depending on how good your computer is, along with your speed you are paying for. The Coupler is no different than using a patch pnel or a short run of cable with Keystones on the ends.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2015, 02:13 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: NE Oklahoma
Posts: 186
Rewards Points: 287
Default

RJ45 coupler.


Quote:
Originally Posted by sanzsmatic View Post
I'd rather take a coupler than a longer cable. In my situation, it's more comfortable.that's as long as it doesn't slow down my connection speeds. I'm a gamer and the speed is important.
Ok, I know this is an old thread but I just have to ask. A coupler is more comfortable how? Are you sitting on it and the coupler has less pokey things? I don't understand.

Because I would bet money that had you just bought a longer cable you wouldn't have had to come to a DIY forum to ask whether the longer cable would work so I don't know what else you might mean by more comfortable with a coupler.

Advertisement

dalepres is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to dalepres For This Useful Post:
digitalplumber (12-27-2015)
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to remove GE turntable coupler? HomeLearner Appliances 5 11-05-2014 10:53 PM
Cast iron to PVC coupler...Shielded or not? bobjax Plumbing 9 06-30-2014 06:14 PM
repair coupler Fix'n it Plumbing 6 02-24-2013 03:07 PM
flexible coupler benr Plumbing 7 06-13-2011 10:54 PM
PVC Slip coupler msaeger Plumbing 5 03-13-2011 10:46 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts