Location Of Router - Networking - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Do It Yourself > PC Repairs & Upgrades > Networking

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-27-2008, 10:02 PM   #1
12 year IBEW member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 29
Rewards Points: 25
Default

location of router


I am looking at getting a dsl connection in my house and am wondering if it is pssible to put the dsl modem and wireless router away from my pc, I live in an older house so the phone wiring is not real current. and do not want to run a new line though the house. we currently have a lap top with a wireless n card and the pc has a pci adapter g in my pc. We currently share our neighbors dsl with their blessing but they are moving and we do not know the new neighbors yet.
could we just set up a station where the phone line comes in and manage there with the laptop, but then just use both wirelessly ( is that even a word?)

Advertisement

heavyduty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2008, 11:01 PM   #2
Residential Renovations
 
Tattoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 10
Default

location of router


You shouldn't have any problems with this setup.... most wireless routers have a lined connection and a wireless connection.

Advertisement

Tattoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2008, 05:56 PM   #3
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,400
Rewards Points: 2,462
Default

location of router


You can, but the signal can be wonky if you have Plaster walls, or the unit is placed in the basement. Depending on how old the Teleco wiring is in the home, it may work, but you will not know until you try. The best thing to do if you are able to, is place the Modem on a Dedicated Teleco line, and from there, run Cat-5e to various points in the house. Then you would be able to place the router at that point if not needing wireless, but if needing wireless, go with the 2-Wire modem if getting AT&T DSL.
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2008, 08:27 PM   #4
Ash
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Israel
Posts: 63
Rewards Points: 75
Send a message via MSN to Ash
Default

location of router


Old phone wires are usually not a problem for DSL if they are connected ok. Expect it to work without problem

I join the ethernet cable recommendation. There are enough reasons to avoid wireless - from speed and reliability to health concerns

BTW : a 4 - pair 8 - wire etheret cable can connect 2 computers and not one. You can save alot of cable this way. Connect only the 1 2 3 6 wires of each netcard. I hope you dont mind your network to work at 10 mbit / s or 100 mbit / s half duplex
Ash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2008, 07:44 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada (s/w ON.)
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

location of router


The router needs one ethernet cable connection to a router for programing purposes.
After the router is programed, it must initialize and it drops wireless connections. (akin to sawing of a tree branch while standing out on the end.)
DSL fails from time to time and you will have to use the services of the ISP tech. he will be asking you the state of various lights etc., so you won't want to be running back and forth.
For this reason use a phone jack near your desktop then you'll be able to monitor the modem, router and computer conditions from one place.
Wildie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2008, 09:53 PM   #6
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

location of router


I cut a 14" square hole in the hallway wall, and put my modem and router in there. Bought a plumber's access panel cover to hide the hole, and then hung a picture over the whole mess.

Central location, gets good signal to anywhere in the house.

Advertisement

kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
router irwinbuilt Carpentry 5 01-20-2008 08:22 AM
L/R Drain bath/shower over center drain location in floor? tigerbalm2424 Plumbing 2 12-04-2007 02:26 PM
what size router bit for this job... KUIPORNG Remodeling 3 10-17-2007 03:00 PM
Drain location off by 1/4" jross Plumbing 24 03-30-2007 07:39 PM
Router Guide powrus Tools 2 05-02-2006 06:25 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts