Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Do It Yourself > PC Repairs & Upgrades > Networking

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-25-2010, 06:29 PM   #61
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 321
Share |
Default

How can I access free word processing software?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
What OS are you using ?
I'd definitely dump AOL
If you have Roadrunner it does not make sense to pay a monthly fee to AOL
I think OS means operating system, right? If so, I don't have a clue.

proofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2010, 06:32 PM   #62
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Default

How can I access free word processing software?


Windows XP? Vista? Linux?

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2010, 06:32 PM   #63
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 321
Default

How can I access free word processing software?


Quote:
Originally Posted by DangerMouse View Post
You should still have Wordpad to do documents with.. also Notepad for small text files.

DM
The type of word processing I need is something that features centering, bold, italics, etc., and keeps the text in place (and not mash them all together). I don't think Notepad would work.
proofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2010, 06:33 PM   #64
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 321
Default

How can I access free word processing software?


Quote:
Originally Posted by DangerMouse View Post
Windows XP? Vista? Linux?

DM
I believe it's Windows XP. That rings a bell.
proofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2010, 06:38 PM   #65
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Default

How can I access free word processing software?


search for wordpad.exe

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2010, 05:45 AM   #66
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 321
Default

How can I access free word processing software?


I searched for notepad.exe. Found 3 occurrences. Found it in Windows NT. But I could not find it to use as an attachment in an email.

Searched for notepad.exe again. Found 4 occurrences this time. But not in Windows NT---just in Windows. Tried to open all 3, but I didn't get a typing screen; I just got a screen with a bunch of file names.
proofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2010, 05:54 AM   #67
Doer of Many Things
 
poppameth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Staunton, VA
Posts: 1,160
Default

How can I access free word processing software?


Try Abiword instead. It's just a word processor. OpenOffice is an entire office suite and it is a very large download. It seems overkill for what you want.
poppameth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2010, 09:51 AM   #68
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 321
Default

How can I access free word processing software?


OpenOffice is already downloaded, so that's not a problem. It looks like I just need to find a basic word processing software (that retains spacing, and has bold, italics, etc.) and where the word processing documents are compatible with AOL and are obtainable through a "browse" box.
proofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2010, 09:57 AM   #69
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 321
Default

How can I access free word processing software?


I misspoke. I still have Microsoft Word and Microsoft Works on my computer. It even comes up to a blank document screen. But because the computer crashed, it's asking me for a Product Key number to plug in. And I don't have that since I never initially had any disks that came with the computer.
proofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2010, 10:00 AM   #70
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

How can I access free word processing software?


How did you restore all the software to the PC ?
You should have received a license number if this was purchased as a new PC
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2010, 10:03 AM   #71
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 321
Default

How can I access free word processing software?


After the computer crashed, I had disks that came with my monitor, printer, camera, and an AOL disk to load back on. And then I did a "restore" which put everything else back on.
proofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2010, 10:05 AM   #72
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Default

How can I access free word processing software?


An OS reinstall that does not format will leave all files and folders where they were.
It just redoes windows.
Hence, you have the word and work files, but they are no longer linked properly to windows and are missing windows/system files/reg. settings, etc. as well.

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2010, 07:36 AM   #73
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 321
Default

How can I access free word processing software?


I am using Microsoft Works and created a document. When I print it out, it looks good (margins, italics, boldface, etc.) on paper. However, when I use the "browse" feature on the Internet to attach this document, it says that I can only attach documents ending in .txt (my Microsoft Works document ends in .wps).

So I rename this document using a .txt extension this time. But when I download the file, it opens my document in a very small box. And when I print it out, all the margins are off.

Any other ideas on how I can print a nice-looking document that can be used in the "browse" feature of an Internet site?
proofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2010, 07:45 AM   #74
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Default

How can I access free word processing software?


Is this because you are using AOL to store these files so you can print them elsewhere? or at a later time?
If so, stop using AOL! there are many many FREE sites you can store the *.wps or any other type of files.

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2010, 11:53 AM   #75
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

How can I access free word processing software?


Changing the file extension to txt loses all of the document formatting

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
good free software for drawing up electrical plans brons2 Electrical 5 02-04-2010 11:12 PM
Installing and attic access and a "What is this?" cbaileyau General DIY Discussions 16 12-19-2009 02:54 PM
Finishing off access door panel TanMan Building & Construction 12 02-05-2009 05:59 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.