Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Do It Yourself > PC Repairs & Upgrades > Networking

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-25-2010, 11:38 AM   #16
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Share |
Default

How can I access free word processing software?


I always choose "save to disk", in case I want to save it to use on another machine, that way I have the install file. (also, I can virus scan it first that way, before I use it)

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2010, 11:44 AM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 321
Default

How can I access free word processing software?


OK. I had chosen RUN the last time. I did SAVE this time. It's up to 14% completed (and should take another 25 minutes to download). Thanks.
proofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2010, 11:49 AM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Louisville
Posts: 455
Default

How can I access free word processing software?


Quote:
Originally Posted by proofer View Post
OK. I had chosen RUN the last time. I did SAVE this time. It's up to 14% completed (and should take another 25 minutes to download). Thanks.
when you hit RUN (or OPEN) instead of save your PC is trying to manage all that data so it can run the file which is why your D/L speed was so long. by just saving it is a straight download and your PC isnt trying to do anything else with it.
cellophane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2010, 11:51 AM   #19
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Default

How can I access free word processing software?


Good deal. Glad to help.

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2010, 11:58 AM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 321
Default

How can I access free word processing software?


Up to 60% completed. It's moving right along. Thanks again.

I'd sure like to have you computer guys here. My computer has been driving me NUTS ever since I got it! I'm about to pitch it out the window.

I have broadband (Roadrunner light). I'll be getting the faster Roadrunner on Tuesday. But it seems like at times it should be running faster that it does. Not as far as downloads, but just in opening Internet pages. For instance, I have AOL. If I'm on AOL's main page and click on a link to read one of their news stories, I click on that link, then I get the hourglass, and I can hear "churning/grinding" coming from my tower like it's trying to do something, and then the Web site that I was trying to bring up might come in 3 or 4 minutes later. I'm surprised that it takes so long considering my Compaq computer is only 4 years old and I have broadband. Any ideas of why that is?
proofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2010, 12:01 PM   #21
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Default

How can I access free word processing software?


Well sure! You already answered your own question! AOL!!!!

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2010, 12:05 PM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 321
Default

How can I access free word processing software?


What do you guys use to access the Internet? I've seen that I have Internet Explorer on my computer, and I've heard that I can access the Internet that way. But I've never used it myself. Is that what you use?

Also, say I end my AOL subscription. I would still need to purchase an Internet Service Provider that provides access to the Internet, right? I couldn't just go on Internet Explorer for free, right?
proofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2010, 12:13 PM   #23
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Default

How can I access free word processing software?


Yes, though I'd advise against it. Use a better browser like Opera or Firefox. IE is a..... well, you know....
I'm still on dialup, but if you have broadband, you're static anyways, so never a need for AOL.

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2010, 12:17 PM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 321
Default

How can I access free word processing software?


DM,

So can I stop my AOL and get on the Internet without paying a monthly fee?
proofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2010, 12:18 PM   #25
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Default

How can I access free word processing software?


Roadrunner ain't from aol is it?

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2010, 12:21 PM   #26
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Default

How can I access free word processing software?


oops....aol owns roadrunner, so no in this case. I'd look for a better provider, such as cable, or even dsl would likely perform better.

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2010, 12:22 PM   #27
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 321
Default

How can I access free word processing software?


I thought Roadrunner was the broadband hardware. And I thought AOL was the Internet Service Provider. I pay for both through Time-Warner Cable.
proofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2010, 12:25 PM   #28
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 321
Default

How can I access free word processing software?


OK. OpenOffice is now complete. But darn if I can locate it on my computer! I can't find it.
proofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2010, 12:27 PM   #29
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Default

How can I access free word processing software?


OK... what I meant is you will still have a monthly bill. You can keep roadrunner as provider, and just use a different browser.

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2010, 12:30 PM   #30
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 321
Default

How can I access free word processing software?


OK. I understand that I have to pay for the monthly Roadrunner broadband. But I also do pay for AOL monthly, too. So instead of using AOL as a browser, is there something free that I can use other than AOL to access the Internet? Is that where Internet Explorer comes in?
proofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
good free software for drawing up electrical plans brons2 Electrical 5 02-04-2010 11:12 PM
Installing and attic access and a "What is this?" cbaileyau General DIY Discussions 16 12-19-2009 02:54 PM
Finishing off access door panel TanMan Building & Construction 12 02-05-2009 05:59 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.