Idler Pulley And Idler Bracket? - Tractors & Mowers - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Landscaping & Lawn Care > Tractors & Mowers

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-24-2013, 11:07 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: North Dakota
Posts: 231
Rewards Points: 156
Default

Idler Pulley and Idler Bracket?


Hello, what does an Idler Pulley or an Idler Bracket do on a riding lawn mower?

My blades try to start turning as soon as I turn the mower on. I think I got the wrong v belt on the deck and I'm gonna get a different on. I think the one I got is too long. I would of thought too tight of a belt would cause the this, not too loose.

Advertisement

jburchill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2013, 11:28 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 27,732
Rewards Points: 580
Default

Idler Pulley and Idler Bracket?


Sure you installed it right?
Easy to get it wrong.
The idler is so the motor can be running without putting tention on the belt causing it to turn.

Advertisement

__________________
When posting in forums, letting us know your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2013, 11:50 AM   #3
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,650
Rewards Points: 2,614
Default

Idler Pulley and Idler Bracket?


To add to that....

The 'idler' feature has two purposes....

1. So you can stop the blades when you want

2. Makes it easier to start the engine.
__________________
Even if you are on the right track, you will still get run over if you just sit there.

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2013, 12:52 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Southeastern MA
Posts: 1,448
Rewards Points: 564
Default

Idler Pulley and Idler Bracket?


The idler pulley (connected to the bracket) takes the slack out of the belt when you engage the blade(s). When the blades are not engaged, there should be slack in the belt. If there isn't you have the wrong belt OR the idler bracket is adjusted incorrectly.
__________________
Dan
djlandkpl is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2013, 12:58 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: North Dakota
Posts: 231
Rewards Points: 156
Default

Idler Pulley and Idler Bracket?


ok, so what I am getting out of your replies is that the idler pulley tension can cause the blades to be engaged all the time. I am going to get a different v belt for the deck, and then look to see if the idler pulley is working correctly.

Only thing I installed on the mower is the v belt, and its on correctly.
jburchill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2013, 01:12 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,827
Rewards Points: 1,168
Default

Idler Pulley and Idler Bracket?


The tensioner tightens the belt when the mower is engaged. On some models, the tensioner also provides a second function when disengaged, in that it may put a bit of a bind on the belt to keep the belt from turning, or it may have a brake pad that contacts one of the pulleys. Hopefully this makes sense, as it's hard to be any more specific without seeing exactly what you have, but the point is that you may want to be looking for something like this; either the belt routed incorrectly, or evidence of a worn or missing brake pad on the back side of the tensioner.
DexterII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2013, 02:34 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: North Dakota
Posts: 231
Rewards Points: 156
Default

Idler Pulley and Idler Bracket?


this is what I'm working with:
http://www.mtdparts.com/equipment/mt.../0103433000004

I am missing spring #60. I don't know if that has anything to do with my blades staying engaged.
jburchill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2013, 03:21 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Southeastern MA
Posts: 1,448
Rewards Points: 564
Default

Idler Pulley and Idler Bracket?


That's one tiny diagram. If spring #60 is part of the mower deck then it would affect the blades. If not, I can't tell where it goes.
__________________
Dan
djlandkpl is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2013, 04:10 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: North Dakota
Posts: 231
Rewards Points: 156
Default

Idler Pulley and Idler Bracket?


Quote:
Originally Posted by djlandkpl View Post
That's one tiny diagram. If spring #60 is part of the mower deck then it would affect the blades. If not, I can't tell where it goes.

you can zoom in on the diagram. And yes it is hard to tell where it goes
jburchill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2013, 04:20 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,827
Rewards Points: 1,168
Default

Idler Pulley and Idler Bracket?


I zoomed it, and can't tell either, but, as dj said, if it's on the deck, it surely has something to do with the blade tension. With the engine OFF, actuate the mechanism by hand, and see what actions may be missing. Maybe you have something that is supposed to move, but isn't.
DexterII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2013, 11:56 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: North Dakota
Posts: 231
Rewards Points: 156
Default

Idler Pulley and Idler Bracket?


I found where the spring goes. Went to something by the brakes. Good thing in finding where it goes since I found a piece of wood by the brakes that was causing the mower rear wheels to lock up.

I was reading the mtd site and it said to check the belt and blade brake pads. The belt is new and correct size. For the blade brakes are a little worn out. Are the blade brakes suppose to stop the brakes even with tension on the belt. If they are to stop the blades with tension, won't that just burn out the belt on the deck drive pulley?

Last edited by jburchill; 05-26-2013 at 12:07 PM.
jburchill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2013, 03:57 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Southeastern MA
Posts: 1,448
Rewards Points: 564
Default

Idler Pulley and Idler Bracket?


The brake should not rub against the stopping surface when the blade is engaged. Can you post a picture?
__________________
Dan
djlandkpl is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2013, 04:21 PM   #13
Architectural Sculptor
 
RWolff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA, Midwest
Posts: 765
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Idler Pulley and Idler Bracket?


Just be sure to get the exact same replacement belt that was in there originally, one that's just a"little" wider, narrower, longer, shorter, "real close" "almost the right size" isn't going to work right, and if there was a spring in there you need to be sure if it's replaced to get the same exact spring too.
__________________
Sculpture scholarship recipient, 2008
Asbestos information: http://www.diychatroom.com/f98/asbes...pt-1-a-181840/

RWolff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2013, 08:31 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: North Dakota
Posts: 231
Rewards Points: 156
Default

Idler Pulley and Idler Bracket?


Quote:
Originally Posted by djlandkpl View Post
The brake should not rub against the stopping surface when the blade is engaged. Can you post a picture?

The Brake would only rub against the surface when when the lever is in disengage. I'll work on getting a pic. Only thing I got to take a pic is my cellphone.. and that doesn't take good pics. I'll see what i can do.
jburchill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2013, 08:37 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: North Dakota
Posts: 231
Rewards Points: 156
Default

Idler Pulley and Idler Bracket?


Quote:
Originally Posted by RWolff View Post
Just be sure to get the exact same replacement belt that was in there originally, one that's just a"little" wider, narrower, longer, shorter, "real close" "almost the right size" isn't going to work right, and if there was a spring in there you need to be sure if it's replaced to get the same exact spring too.
The spring was the original..it just fell off and I didn't know where it went. I've been checking MTD site for the original parts and sizes.

Advertisement

jburchill is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts