Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Concrete, Stone & Masonry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 12-17-2012, 09:47 AM   #1

Share |

Several repair jobs - need advice

Hi everyone,

I have a few brick repair jobs that I want to start planning for to take care of in the spring. I have no experience with brick and masonry projects but after the purchase of our fixer upper I've been taking my time to learn as much as I can (electrical, drywall, carpentry, etc..) So I'm coming here to hopefully get a better insight into what these repair jobs will need so I can decide if I should DIY or hire some one (preferably I'd like to do it myself)

Here's some images and some more info on each of the different problems:

1) I have a couple sections of wall where the capstones have come loose. I'm thinking the fix is to remove old mortar and re-do..

1b) This cap stone was pushed off by some roots that grew from underneath. I've started to remove the roots, need to remove more than fix like above?

Here is the side where you can see how far the roots pushed it:

2) These sections of wall I think would need to be tuck-pointed to fix the mortar, any other concerns or things I should consider when fixing?

This one looks like previous home owner tried to fix already:

3) Here's the one I'm not too sure on, more roots started pushing this wall forward. I plan to remove the concrete pad that was poured behind this wall to make a planter box out of it, so will that give me some room (if at all possible) to push the wall back? This push off happens for about half the length of the wall, the other side is intact still.

Thanks for any help! And let me know if you need more info.
tjansen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 09:56 AM   #2

You have a bunch of issues you did not even mention going on.