Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Concrete, Stone & Masonry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 03-10-2014, 04:57 PM   #1

Share |

Repairing a cracked and slightly sunken driveway

Hi -

A bit about me: I'm a general handyman and I have some reasonable concrete experience. I'm also quick on the uptake with learning background information to make jobs successful.

The customer I'm considering doing the job for wants his driveway both repaired and also widened. But let's start with the repair issue:

The driveway is about 33 feet long. There are several fairly large cracks. Also spots where the slab seems to have sunken a bit - not too terrible, maybe an inch or two off what it was. Water pooling up there, mud, etc.

I'm wondering - is is possible to simply go over the old concrete - say use patch or even epoxy or some such to repair, smooth the cracks, then go over all that with filler concrete?

Or would one concrete mixture over the whole thing be recommended? For instance patching over the whole thing - using sakrete patch or whatever?

Is raising the concrete (possibly even with some of the polylevel pump-in stuff) absolutely necessary?

The next thing is that he wants the driveway expanded from 8 feet to 11 feet along the whole length.

Do you think I should do the patch/leveling work as one separate job and then do the extension, or all at once? I'm favoring the former because it looks like a fairly large job to extend it.

I'm open to any and all comments and suggestions. We can talk more about the extension part as the thread continues.

Thanks a lot

Will

Will1987 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2014, 05:05 PM   #2
Master General ReEngineer

Ayuh,.... Honestly, yer plan won't work,...

A complete demo, 'n repour is the only way to get a satisfactory driveway,...
Or,...
A Dig-out, regrade, 'n Pave it with blacktop,...

Both well above a "Handyman" chore,...

Bondo is offline   Reply With Quote