Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Concrete, Stone & Masonry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-21-2013, 11:41 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 444
Share |
Default

Rebuild chimney cheaply


I want the cheapest way possible to fix this chimney. This chimney vents the furnace and hot water heater. Currently the house is vacant and the gas is off. I have estimates of over $2000 to demolish and rebuild this.

I would like to save money by doing the demolition myself and have someone who knows what they are doing rebuild the chimney with inexpensive materials. This is the rear of the house and I do not care about appearance. Does demolition simply involve me going up there with a hammer and chiseling out every brick? When I have it rebuilt it does not have to be brick? What is the least expensive way to do this and still have a working chimney? Thank you all in advance.
Attached Thumbnails
Rebuild chimney cheaply-overview.jpg  


Last edited by crescere; 06-21-2013 at 06:46 PM.
crescere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2013, 11:42 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 444
Default

Rebuild chimney cheaply


Closeup of problem
Attached Thumbnails
Rebuild chimney cheaply-close-up.jpg  

crescere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2013, 11:44 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 444
Default

Rebuild chimney cheaply


pieces are falling off
Attached Thumbnails
Rebuild chimney cheaply-crumbling.jpg  
crescere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2013, 11:57 AM   #4
MEASURE ONCE, CUT TWICE
 
123pugsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: MARKHAM, ON
Posts: 524
Default

Rebuild chimney cheaply


Oil furnace?

I had the same problem. I had a "friend" do the labor for 1700 bucks. I bought the bricks. The cheap job ended up crooked at the top.

I then had to change the liner as that is what caused the problem in the first place. Then I had to change the oil tank. Three years goes by and the insurance company asks for pics of the tank and cancels any insurance to do with an oil leak. This was a ULC listed tank, but the company that made it had leaks in some of their tanks.

My point is this. If it's oil, toss it all and change to natural gas. I ended up changing after all the grief. You can then knock down the chimney as you won't need it any more.

I wasted about 4 grand with that oil set up.
__________________
Pugsy

My project: http://www.diychatroom.com/f49/bunga...-build-169318/
123pugsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2013, 12:29 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 444
Default

Rebuild chimney cheaply


No, this is gas. I just want to know what is involved in demo of the brick chimney and rebuilding it with something cheaper than brick. What about just having a metal chimney straight up?
crescere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2013, 02:22 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 444
Default

Rebuild chimney cheaply


I just noticed that this has been moved to the concrete forum by a moderator. No offense to masons, but most of them tell me I need new brick. I am hoping to use cheaper material that will still work like maybe a metal pipe with aluminum around it etc. I have seen this while driving around on other houses.
crescere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2013, 03:09 PM   #7
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,240
Default

Rebuild chimney cheaply


How about tearing it all down..build a box to keep the flue in...and then cover that with brick vernier panels?
__________________
"The dream is free but the hustle is sold separately."

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2013, 03:37 PM   #8
Member
 
Oso954's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Calif.
Posts: 1,539
Default

Rebuild chimney cheaply


A good HVAC company should be able to provide an exterior furnace flue or tell you who can. Depending on your furnace, hot water heater, and local codes, you might not be able to share the flue. You might need separate ones.
Oso954 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2013, 04:12 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sarasota,Florida
Posts: 1,548
Default

Rebuild chimney cheaply


Or you may be able to use metal pipe in a wood chase,check with your local building department,you'll get it right from the horses mouth there.
Canarywood1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2013, 05:17 PM   #10
MEASURE ONCE, CUT TWICE
 
123pugsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: MARKHAM, ON
Posts: 524
Default

Rebuild chimney cheaply


Gas is good.

Can you not just run the exhaust/intakes right thru the wall w/o using a chimney?
My new furnace doesn't need a chimney.
__________________
Pugsy

My project: http://www.diychatroom.com/f49/bunga...-build-169318/
123pugsy is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to 123pugsy For This Useful Post:
oh'mike (06-21-2013)
Old 06-21-2013, 05:27 PM   #11
Concrete & Masonry
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 2,720
Default

Rebuild chimney cheaply


16" chimney block and 8x8 flues would likely be an easy and cheap way to meld that inti the existing below grade portion. If the correct cement is used between the flues, it should last a lifetime. Still going to be some expense to it though as it looks relatively tall.......
jomama45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2013, 06:34 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 444
Default

Rebuild chimney cheaply


Quote:
Originally Posted by ddawg16 View Post
How about tearing it all down..build a box to keep the flue in...and then cover that with brick vernier panels?


I have never taken a chimney down so my stupid question is if I demo the bricks that are already crumbling will the liner remain standing or will it fall? Is the chimney flue the same as a liner? I just want to be sure I do not make a mistake in overdoing the demo. I am certainly capable of breaking things so I can handle the take down. I just want it put back up inexpensively.
crescere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2013, 06:37 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 444
Default

Rebuild chimney cheaply


Quote:
Originally Posted by jomama45 View Post
16" chimney block and 8x8 flues would likely be an easy and cheap way to meld that inti the existing below grade portion. If the correct cement is used between the flues, it should last a lifetime. Still going to be some expense to it though as it looks relatively tall.......
I have had estiamtes of $2K to over $3K. Those numbers just do not work for me.
crescere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2013, 06:41 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 444
Default

Rebuild chimney cheaply


Quote:
Originally Posted by 123pugsy View Post
Gas is good.

Can you not just run the exhaust/intakes right thru the wall w/o using a chimney?
My new furnace doesn't need a chimney.

No, it has to be 90% efficient appliance to do that I have been told.
crescere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2013, 02:39 AM   #15
MEASURE ONCE, CUT TWICE
 
123pugsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: MARKHAM, ON
Posts: 524
Default

Rebuild chimney cheaply


Quote:
Originally Posted by crescere View Post
No, it has to be 90% efficient appliance to do that I have been told.
I had thought about that after posting. Might be a good time to upgrade and lose the chimney. If you rebuild the chimney, eventually you'll need to change your furnace anyways so the chimney repair money seems like a waste.

__________________
Pugsy

My project: http://www.diychatroom.com/f49/bunga...-build-169318/
123pugsy is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to 123pugsy For This Useful Post:
concretemasonry (06-22-2013), oh'mike (06-22-2013)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to install chimney liner Rockford How To Guides 3 07-16-2012 04:15 PM
Why a Chimney Liner? Rockford HVAC 0 07-12-2012 10:03 AM
How To Install a Chimney Liner Rockford How To Guides 0 01-24-2012 10:00 AM
chimney: repoint or rebuild? wombosi Building & Construction 11 10-10-2011 02:44 AM
fireplace and chimney top rebuild??? syborg Building & Construction 18 01-16-2010 02:58 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.