Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Concrete, Stone & Masonry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-12-2013, 08:56 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 368
Share |
Default

Rebar in footers?


Do you need rebar for footers that are below the frost line, for a garage?

Also, can you footers be too thick? Mine are pretty poorly dug (literally the first day in my life I used an excavator), so I was planning on just sticking an extra few yards of concrete in there to make sure the high-spots were still 16+ inches thick.

tibberous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2013, 09:12 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 24,595
Default

Rebar in footers?


16" thick I've never seen any footing over 8" thick.
#1 you need to go back and add you location to your profile!!
How did you set the grade stakes?
No idea on if rebar is needed, twice as much concrete that's needed, sure you really want to be DIYing this?
If this is messed up the rest of the building will follow.

joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2013, 09:21 PM   #3
Lord of Slums
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Detroit Mi
Posts: 637
Default

Rebar in footers?


Id ask the fellows you ordering cement from.
mj12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2013, 09:26 PM   #4
DIY staff
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 20,423
Default

Rebar in footers?


I'm going to move this to concrete for you----
__________________
New members: Adding your location to your profile helps in many ways.--M--
oh'mike is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2013, 09:31 PM   #5
DIY staff
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 20,423
Default

Rebar in footers?


That is a rather thick footing---I don't know what your soil is like or your codes--so that might be the normal size for your locale----

Rebar is frequently place low in the footing in areas with soft or sandy soil---I put rebar into my houses footings --they weren't required ,but the added cost seemed like good insurance--

I am not a mason--I am allergic to shovels---so if a concrete guy chimes in---ignore my post.
__________________
New members: Adding your location to your profile helps in many ways.--M--
oh'mike is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2013, 09:40 PM   #6
Lord of Slums
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Detroit Mi
Posts: 637
Default

Rebar in footers?


Is this a one story garage? There are houses as far as the eye can see out here in Detroit with no footers at all.
mj12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2013, 09:42 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 24,595
Default

Rebar in footers?


No footer
Not so sure about that one.
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2013, 09:45 PM   #8
Lord of Slums
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Detroit Mi
Posts: 637
Default

Rebar in footers?


Yes, very sure, it is very common. At least with houses over 80 years old. I live in a vast wasteland of houses, they are falling down right on my street.
mj12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2013, 10:02 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 24,595
Default

Rebar in footers?


Let think about this, there 80 years old and there falling down.
HMM
How does that have anything to to do with the O/P's question?
Still have no location.
No size of the building.
Single story or two.
So everyone's still having to just guess.

Last edited by joecaption; 03-12-2013 at 10:04 PM.
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 07:25 AM   #10
Lord of Slums
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Detroit Mi
Posts: 637
Default

Rebar in footers?


The foundations are strong, the houses are falling down because of the roofing fail. Down south by you many many houses are just built on rocks. My point is you could get by without a footer. Although not ideal it was done successfully in this country for 100 years or more
mj12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 09:58 AM   #11
World's Tallest Midget
 
Mort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Twisp, WA
Posts: 626
Default

Rebar in footers?


Most of the footings I see have rebar in them. Not much, maybe one or two lines of it, and mostly to tie in the steel for the stem walls. So yeah, put some in, but there's no need to over do it.
Mort is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 10:37 AM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 368
Default

Rebar in footers?


New Jersey.

Problem is that my footer bed is REALLY unlevel - I can either pay $3600 to have someone else do them, spend a day with a shovel fixing them, or pay an extra grand in concrete and just make them super-deep... well, actually super-deep in some places and normally-deep in others.
tibberous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 10:42 AM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: WV
Posts: 2,823
Default

Rebar in footers?


Your plans should specify how much rebar to use. The guy I hired to build the foundation for my log home was amazed at how much was called for. I've never seen footers without at least some rebar. Footers are too important to leave to chance.
md2lgyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 10:49 AM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 368
Default

Rebar in footers?


Quote:
Originally Posted by md2lgyk View Post
Your plans should specify how much rebar to use
I don't have any plans. This project started as a patio - then I was like, "wow, this skidloader moves a lot of dirt, bet I could move this hill and build a garage"
tibberous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 12:27 PM   #15
Member
 
concretemasonry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Minneapolis/St. Paul, Minnesota - Latitude 45.057 Longitude -93.074
Posts: 3,645
Default

Rebar in footers?


It is a strip footing there is often no requirement for rebar, but 2 or 3 longitudinal one are good practice. - A code is just the minimum standard, but you are allowed to do better.

The length wise rebar make the footing and stem wall work together into a very stiff reinforced deep beam that can span over areas with poor soil and not have settlement cracking, since very rarely are soil borings done for small jobs. A common rule of thumb is the the width of footing should be the width of the foundation wall plus 2 times the MINIMUM required footing thickness. This allows you to avoid cross-rebars if you overdig the footing depth.

If you building a garage, may be better to build the stem wall (block or concrete) from the footing upward about 8" above the planned slab elevation. This allows you to have a floating slab that can be poured later and will get you siding above grade and easy to wash out and provide drainage to wherever you want (front door or central rock well) if you track in salt and debris.

Dick

concretemasonry is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to concretemasonry For This Useful Post:
GBrackins (03-13-2013), itsreallyconc (03-17-2013)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Size Rebar Needed to Reinforce Bowed Block Wall frtools Concrete, Stone & Masonry 7 06-18-2012 11:28 AM
Vertical Rebar Layout in Block Wall Footing 99altrade Building & Construction 6 08-12-2011 09:32 PM
# of rebar in cinder block wall johnlvs2run Building & Construction 3 08-08-2010 10:48 AM
rebar in footers ajoantmug Building & Construction 11 11-18-2008 09:11 AM
Rebar for Monolithic Slabs portert0224 Building & Construction 1 07-03-2008 11:37 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.