Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Concrete, Stone & Masonry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-23-2012, 04:24 AM   #16
Member
 
Ravenworks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 598
Share |
Default

raised concrete slab porch


Quote:
Originally Posted by Canarywood1 View Post
All i can say is he must be a real idiot if he's never heard of it,and some engineer,hope i never have to be in a building he's worked on.
Dude,now I am laughing because you're way over thinking this,it's a porch.
As for my engineer,I have total faith in him,the company I work for is one of the largest in Ohio we specialise in heavy industry,we are exclusive to the world's #1 steel maker.
I am not posting any names but with a little searching it isn't to hard to figure out who I'm talking about.
__________________
U.S.M.C. "80-84" E.O.D. 1369
Ravenworks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2012, 09:41 AM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sarasota,Florida
Posts: 1,291
Default

raised concrete slab porch


Quote:
Originally Posted by Mort View Post
Type III is Hi Early.

Most ready mix companies will be able to put in a shrinkage reducing admixture (ours is called Eclipse), instead of the special cement. Just make sure they have the air friendly version, some of those really mess with the air. You can have the exact same load and one will be fine, and for no reason the next load tests at 12% air entrainment. Even our chemical reps had a hard time figuring that one out.

And we WILL put color in, the drivers don't really like to because of the extra work involved (all pays the same, I say). I just b***h when I have to put lamp black in (powder color), because it gets everywhere.

Your right on the Hi Early,and we always used the type k cement because of the air problems using an admixture.

Your right about the lamp black,terrible stuff to handle,last time i used it was in the sidewalks at Sears Tower.
Canarywood1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2012, 09:55 AM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sarasota,Florida
Posts: 1,291
Default

raised concrete slab porch


Quote:
Originally Posted by Ravenworks View Post
Dude,now I am laughing because you're way over thinking this,it's a porch.
As for my engineer,I have total faith in him,the company I work for is one of the largest in Ohio we specialise in heavy industry,we are exclusive to the world's #1 steel maker.
I am not posting any names but with a little searching it isn't to hard to figure out who I'm talking about.


Your the guy that asked for the information,i just supplied it.
Canarywood1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2012, 10:19 AM   #19
World's Tallest Midget
 
Mort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Twisp, WA
Posts: 626
Default

raised concrete slab porch


Quote:
Originally Posted by Canarywood1 View Post
Your right about the lamp black,terrible stuff to handle,last time i used it was in the sidewalks at Sears Tower.
That stuff is awful, and what makes it that much worse is that we aren't allowed to just toss the bag in because we had a problem years ago where the dissolvable bag didn't dissolve all the way, so it stuck out of the guy's exposed slab. Whoops. I actually prefer the red stuff because, since its usually used to cover electrical lines, you just toss the bag in and you're done.
Mort is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Plans for Retrofitting Concrete Porch - Advice? BSponz1 Concrete, Stone & Masonry 1 05-07-2012 08:35 PM
Supporting Concrete Slab from Underneath? Yippydadada Building & Construction 5 10-18-2011 04:24 AM
Pouring Concrete Slab in a small rickety garage. RORO Building & Construction 0 10-19-2010 03:56 PM
How to cut a hole in a concrete floor slab tomseeley General DIY Discussions 7 06-10-2009 02:32 PM
pouring a level concrete slab over sloped concrete Jayne Building & Construction 4 05-11-2008 08:55 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.