Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Concrete, Stone & Masonry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-19-2012, 08:59 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 50
Share |
Default

Please check my concrete form


Hi all,
This is a concrete form I built for a patio cover footing. It's 2 2x6 frames screwed together (for a total depth of 12" -- recommended in my area but the overall hole goes to 24"). I dug the hole a little too wide and will fill-in along the sides and plan to get it level and square (concrete will be flush with the slab).

Questions:

1) Is it OK to have it butted against the existing slab like that (this is how the previous footings were done).

2) Should I drill into the slab and put rebar sticking out, or is that not necessary?

3) Will I be able to get the form out afterwards?

Thanks in advance,

juryduty
Attached Thumbnails
Please check my concrete form-20120219_172227.jpg  
juryduty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2012, 06:12 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Wilmington, DE
Posts: 3,114
Default

Please check my concrete form


I prefer sonotubes, no need to remove anything after. I would not have it touching the slab. The slab will move with weather cycles, but the post won't. Where are you that the frost line is only 12"???
Just Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2012, 11:41 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 50
Default

Please check my concrete form


California (bay area). Basically no frost. Won't the sonotubes rock back and forth a little vs. filling in the holes? And if I used them would they look better if I brought them above grade slightly (like 6")?
juryduty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2012, 01:17 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Pacific North west
Posts: 1,071
Default

Please check my concrete form


OK what you will have is a cold seam where the new cement meets the old. If you want to you can roto hammer on to the old slab a couple of holes and put in some rebar and epoxy them in with that good stuff you can buy from home depot. and to add even more strength to it, tie in vertical rebar to that you placed in horizontal making a little rebar cage. It may sound like over kill but remember over kill is under rated.
Because your in a D4 seismic zone the worst. so yeah add the rebar.

Last edited by Nailbags; 02-20-2012 at 01:22 PM.
Nailbags is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Do I need a form for the concrete pier or just fill up the hole I dug? graysqwrl Building & Construction 1 07-20-2011 07:44 PM
furring strips or 2x4s against concrete basement wall? denemante Building & Construction 15 01-28-2011 03:49 PM
how to fill the gaps between concrete blocks? micapavlov Building & Construction 4 01-03-2010 04:53 PM
Sealing around concrete form openings blue_can Building & Construction 4 11-25-2009 06:40 PM
concrete bid sanity check Brandon Gollaher Building & Construction 10 10-09-2006 08:51 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.