Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Concrete, Stone & Masonry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-19-2013, 07:09 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 5
Share |
Default

New Patio - Pour over existing or demo?


Please see image: http://www5.picturepush.com/photo/a/12727518/img/12727518.gif

Questions:

Should we pour over existing patio, stairs and footers?

If not, why?

If so, what prep work should be done to the existing concrete and how do we ensure the new concrete doesn't crack around the existing? My gut is telling me the new will settle more and cause cracking around the border of the old.

Thank you!
LB

LBtechnology is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2013, 08:04 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 26,196
Default

New Patio - Pour over existing or demo?


That drawing tells us nothing.
What's wrong with the old slab?
Trying to lay a new slab over an old failing slab never works out.

__________________
When posting in forums, letting us know your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions

Last edited by joecaption; 04-20-2013 at 08:58 AM.
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2013, 08:13 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 5
Default

New Patio - Pour over existing or demo?


There's nothing wrong with the old slab and it's the original from 1987.

The drawing shows the general dimensions and the layout of the concrete in question.

You are a welcoming kind of guy, huh?

If you join a web development forum to ask questions, maybe I'll be able to welcome you the same way.

Last edited by LBtechnology; 04-19-2013 at 08:15 PM.
LBtechnology is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2013, 05:22 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: atl & hilton head
Posts: 3,138
Default

New Patio - Pour over existing or demo?


wouldn't say ' never ' but overlaying the old slab after installing the new conc would probably be a better solution,,, the o'lay's only 1/8" thick so that shouldn't be a problem.

still important to know WHY the old slab's failing & how that's evidenced,,,

not that joe needs any defense as this topic's been address'd many times previously,,, IF i'd gotten to this thread yesterday AND been in the same mood as then, my reply would probably have been deleted by a more forgiving moderator as it was yesterday,,, many times threads are begun to validate the op's incorrect method/materials/etc,,, some tire of that sooner than others & more easily

Last edited by stadry; 04-20-2013 at 05:24 AM.
stadry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2013, 05:53 AM   #5
DIY staff
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 21,406
Default

New Patio - Pour over existing or demo?


I'm not a concrete guy--but I've got enough experience to offer an opinion---

Your new slab will not 'float' as it is fully supported by the footers-----if the old slab is supported the same way---your idea might work---

However, If it is a floating slab----which is typical of a patio---it will move more than the 'fixed' 'slab and a crack may form around the old slab as it moves---

Don't be to hard on Joe----He's not long on words sometimes--but he is asking for useful information----
__________________
New members: Adding your location to your profile helps in many ways.--M--
oh'mike is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to oh'mike For This Useful Post:
LBtechnology (04-22-2013)
Old 04-20-2013, 06:03 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: atl & hilton head
Posts: 3,138
Default

New Patio - Pour over existing or demo?


as mike mentions, there will be a separation line showing between the old AND new conc,,, pay attn to design, interpretation, AND a good jnt pattern,,, these are critical to not hearing about failings from your bride
stadry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2013, 06:08 AM   #7
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,441
Default

New Patio - Pour over existing or demo?


Pouring over old concrete has in my experience always resulted in cracks in the new at the same place as the old work or cracks at the edge of the old work.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.

Last edited by joed; 04-20-2013 at 06:10 AM.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joed For This Useful Post:
LBtechnology (04-22-2013)
Old 04-20-2013, 06:19 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: atl & hilton head
Posts: 3,138
Default

New Patio - Pour over existing or demo?


think joed's right,,, unless reflective cracking is properly address'd, the old crks can make a mess of the new conc,,, while that's his experience, ours is different,,, consider a bonded OR unbonded o'lay - also hybrid-polymer-modified cementitious thin o'lay

IF hgwys/parking lots can be successfully ' whitetopped ', i see no reason your project would be unsuccessful IF you're knowledgeable about the work,,, showing us here asking ?'s suggests differently
stadry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2013, 09:27 AM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 5
Default

New Patio - Pour over existing or demo?


I couldn't find any issues with the old slab. The existing footers from the old wood deck seem fine and so do the stairs. One of the stairs was crudely cemented to the existing patio so that will probably need to go.

We were told that the existing concrete patio is more than likely pinned to the foundation and that the same should be done with the new regardless of pour over or demo.

We are trying to determine whether we should pour over some, all or none of the existing concrete patio, stairs and old concrete footings.

joed - appreciate the answer

oh'mike - sounds like good info to me

itsreallyconc - Your font is difficult to read.

joecaption - I was ribbing, not kicking. But I have a feeling you realized that.
LBtechnology is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2013, 09:54 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: atl & hilton head
Posts: 3,138
Default

New Patio - Pour over existing or demo?


too bad as it was a really good response we do this work for a living
stadry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2013, 10:35 AM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 5
Default

New Patio - Pour over existing or demo?


itsreallyconc - I really do appreciate your help and help from others, but fonts like yours make reading forums difficult and pages messy.

Check out responses from joed and oh'mike - easy to read and they answered questions without any unnecessaries.
LBtechnology is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2013, 12:23 PM   #12
Concrete & Masonry
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 2,703
Default

New Patio - Pour over existing or demo?


I wouldn't pour over any existing slab or structures UNLESS I got 4" minimum gravel between the two to ensure separation. BUT, frost concerns are obviously a much larger concern here.........
jomama45 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2013, 02:28 AM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: atl & hilton head
Posts: 3,138
Default

New Patio - Pour over existing or demo?


you don't place any bonded overlays, joe ? not just poly-mod'd thin but 4" or 6", either ? ? ? that 4" separation - lateral OR vertical ? ? ? tnx, j
stadry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2013, 02:33 AM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: atl & hilton head
Posts: 3,138
Default

New Patio - Pour over existing or demo?


LB, you know what i forgot ? your slab should NEVER be attached to your structure,,, sorry for the brain****,,, ooops, forgot you won't read this 'cause its ' messy ' - darn

oh'mike clearly sez he's not a concrete guy,,, even i read that part easily
stadry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2013, 01:19 PM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 5
Default

New Patio - Pour over existing or demo?


I agree, it shouldn't be connected and we will use an expansion joint. We will also remove all existing concrete and make sure the ground is prepared properly and the final slab has the appropriate grade. Now we need to consider stamping, texture, color, etc., or if we want it to be nice and simple concrete.


Now I have a good enough grasp to make a decision on the best company to hire.


Appreciate all the feedback.


itsreallyconc - I don't understand your purpose of using a font that is difficult to read and makes the page messy. That doesn't mean I didn't read what you had written.

LBtechnology is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Enclosed porch over existing concrete patio? Pat the Rat Concrete, Stone & Masonry 2 06-10-2012 09:09 PM
Anchor pergola to existing patio Fotini Building & Construction 1 06-08-2012 01:28 PM
Build a covered patio on existing slab Dornier Building & Construction 12 03-21-2011 06:55 PM
screening in an existing patio jamesbalog Building & Construction 1 03-04-2011 11:41 AM
Landscaper to Pour Concrete For Patio? tibetie Landscaping & Lawn Care 2 11-24-2010 09:43 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.