Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Concrete, Stone & Masonry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 06-17-2013, 09:12 AM   #1

Share |

need advice for running PVC conduit through cinder block

I am looking for advice on mounting two identical electrical boxes (see pics below) on the inside and outside of my basement with a short section of straight 3/4" PVC conduit connecting the two.

These two boxes will house the wiring for my low-voltage irrigation zone valves. Splices will be made in the box that will be inside the house.

Note that in the pictures I have 1/2" PVC connected...this will be replaced with 3/4" because I need to feed through two sets of zone wires and with 1/2" PVC it will be a tight fit.

I will rent a hammer drill and appropriately sized bit, however I have no experience drilling through cinderblock other than to mount something on a wall with holes no larger than 1/4".

I don't plan on gluing the PVC section connecting the two boxes, just fitting it into the threaded connectors. Both boxes will be mounted to their respective walls with screws. This way if I ever need to remove the boxes for whatever reason, the most I'll have to do is unscrew the four screws, remove any weatherseal material and pop the boxes off.

I've been told that I should core drill and sleeve the conduit but is this necessary 8 inches above ground level? I'd don't even know what's involved in sleeving.

The hole for that I need to drill we be no less than 1 and 1/8" to account for the threaded fittings that screw into the backs of each box. I assume I should start by drilling a small pilot hole from the inside of the house. Then drill the larger hole from the outside.

Last but not least...will applying silicone around the box (inside and outside the house) be sufficient to weather seal it?

Last edited by njitgrad; 06-17-2013 at 09:21 AM.
njitgrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2013, 09:47 AM   #2
Handyman