Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Concrete, Stone & Masonry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 11-16-2013, 07:22 AM   #1

Share |

Making Concrete Panels/Tiles

I am new to this and going to do my own shower and even on the kitchen floor. I am seeking advice on which supplies to use, and what will last and not last.

First, I am unsure of what concrete should be used. I have come across 3 ways.

1. Use GFRC.
2. Use pre-mix portland cement and install fiberglass mesh inside.
3. Use quickcrete countertop mix

Which way is best?

Second, I am wondering about what size I should make the panel/tiles do to strength. Should I make panels or smaller tiles? Can I make them under a 1/2" thick, or is will they crack and need to go bigger?

And last, is all about coloring and sealing. I was wondering if I can paint the panels/tiles? If I can, what paint is best? I have not seen anyone paint cement panels/tiles, most use a power/liquid dye or acid stain, but with paint you can do many more designs, colors, or even a mural.

Also, when sealing, has anyone had issues with polyurethane yellowing? I am sure it does because it is oil-based. Would something like Minwax polycrylic be ok?

Thanks for any help on this.

-joey

cane2990 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2013, 05:20 AM   #2

why can't/won't you use avail tiles ? no supply OR is the goal your artistic individuality ? knowing your location ( as the site rqst'd ) would be helpful - are you in e-bum**** OR near an apron/vest store ? 'quikcrete' suggests you're in the usa,,, its certainly possible but doubtful you can feasibly & successfully cast thin conc ' tiles ',,, you'll have much more luck reinventing the wheel,,, IF it were our project, we'd start w/white cement then add hybrid-polymers & silicon carbide fine aggregate,,, OR we could buy a bagg'd mix containing same.