Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Concrete, Stone & Masonry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 03-13-2013, 07:43 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Large Rocks into a 'Concrete Cube' ??

I am going to be building a permanent pier for my telescope and (obviously) the pad that it sets on is the first construction step.

Telescope piers present pretty low loads to the supporting pad, but (if you are going to do astrophotography) ABSOLUTE STABILITY is critical. No movement and no vibration.

My design is basically a 2.5 foot cube (ending maybe an inch above grade). This is probably 1.5 feet away from any reasonable assessment of our frost line here in NC. And that is kind of the upper end of what I think that I can deal with using Sakcrete bags (BTW, I have ZERO concrete experience). I'll be using some undecided mix of rebar and/or mesh (pier itself bolted with J-bolts). However, I have a bunch (say 3-4 80 pound bags worth) of roughly brick sized rocks left over from an old water diversion project. It occurs to me that these could be most useful here - just place them 'randomly about' inside the cube being careful that there are no 'voids' around them. This would (I think)

1) Make my wife happy (rocks would be gone)
2) Have to buy/mix a few less bags
3) Might make the whole thing stronger ??

Comments on this? Thanks.

dave

Last edited by DaveLeeNC; 03-13-2013 at 08:23 AM. Reason: clarity
DaveLeeNC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 10:17 AM   #2

Rewards Points: 2,944

http://www.calculator.net/concrete-calculator.html

Just how big is this?

joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 10:59 AM   #3

Rewards Points: 502

If you mixed them into the concrete no problem. Filling the forms with the rocks and trying to place the concrete around, problem.
Old 03-13-2013, 03:38 PM   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by joecaption View Post