How To Maintain A Side Business While Working Labor? - Concrete, Stone & Masonry - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Concrete, Stone & Masonry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 01-08-2017, 11:24 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 8

How to maintain a side business while working labor?

I am starting a stone masonry apprenticeship in March. I am very excited to be taking on this noble trade (coming from being a salesman and feeling like I did no good for society/made rich people richer while ripping people off). I do need some advice before I begin and I feel like I should shed some light on my situation first.

I am a graduate in audio engineering from a very good school however the extremely competitive nature of my field has forced me to consider other options and a great friend of mine has decided to take me under his wing in masonry. I do not want to give up on my freelancing as an engineer and my own media projects. They do give me another source of income albeit a small one at the moment. Over time my income from creating content, media, recording other artists, working with my band etc... will continue to grow, however I need energy to meet its demands.

This is my conundrum. How do you experienced individuals in hard labor maintain your energy levels for other passions/sources of income? After a long hard work day, what tips do you have in order to make sure you have reserved energy to dedicate to other aspects of your life?

I am physically fit from years of martial arts training but I don't want to rely solely on this. The ideas I have come up with are as follows:

- Eat a good breakfest every morning and make sure to snack intelligently throughout the day on high carb/high protein essentials.
- Take a 30 minute nap immediately following getting home from the work day before taking on any demands of my other sources of income