Ground Prep For Concrete - Concrete, Stone & Masonry - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Concrete, Stone & Masonry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-26-2012, 12:01 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Utah
Posts: 23
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Ground prep for concrete


About ready to lay our concrete pad (8x16) and had the stump grinder guy over today to take out to massive stumps. He said I would be fine to leave the wood chips (lots of them) since I'm bringing in about 4" of fill dirt before laying the pad.

You guys think I'm okay not cleaning out the wood chips?

Advertisement

dclay79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2012, 02:09 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: B.C. Canada
Posts: 2,055
Rewards Points: 1,030
Default

Ground prep for concrete


Clean them out, they rot and leave gaps.
Also not dirt for fill but gravel.

Advertisement

mae-ling is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to mae-ling For This Useful Post:
oh'mike (07-26-2012)
Old 07-26-2012, 06:46 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: western Ny
Posts: 1,255
Rewards Points: 524
Default

Ground prep for concrete


The stump grinding guy is the last guy I would depend on for advice on prepping the ground for concrete. Idealy you should have someone come in and remove the rest of the stump that he left just below the surface of the ground and have it filled properly. Once that starts to rot all of the support under the slab will be gone.
danpik is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to danpik For This Useful Post:
oh'mike (07-26-2012)
Old 07-26-2012, 09:16 AM   #4
Concrete & Masonry
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 2,796
Rewards Points: 2,144
Default

Ground prep for concrete


Pull out all the loose wood chips and replace with granular (gravel) material, compacting every few inches as you fill.

Technically, the stump "could" rot out and create a void, but in reality it takes decades, often even longer, for it to become a significant issue.......
jomama45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2012, 10:32 AM   #5
Coconut Pete's paella!
 
CoconutPete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC / Denmark
Posts: 1,318
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Ground prep for concrete


I had a stump ground because it was in the way of my stair landing for my deck (5' x 4' concrete pad) Just the "spongy" feeling you get from walking over the wood ships was enough to scream "get them outta there" for me. I would certainly not leave them. I still expect the pad to move in a few years just because the stump grinder could only go about 12 or 16" underground.
CoconutPete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2012, 03:11 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Utah
Posts: 23
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Ground prep for concrete


You know I figured he didn't know what he was talking about.

I'll get out most of it, and probably move the remainder of the contaminated dirt to an area where the concrete won't be.

I was wondering about the stump rotting, and I REALLY don't want to deal with that. Good news is the stump goes underground about 18 inches away from where the concrete ends. It was a beast because it took a 90* angle and ran along the ground for 3 feet or so before. I've tried to get as many roots as possible, but I don't think I'll ever get all of them.

As for the gravel - I've spoken to 4 different highly recommended concrete contractors out here and they ALL say gravel isn't needed, and just put it straight on the dirt. I thought this was crazy, but after the 4th I started to believe them. We're planning on filling the non concrete area with gravel as well, so we might as well get a larger load of gravel instead of gravel and dirt. It'll be a better base and its cheaper. Gravel it is
dclay79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2012, 05:46 PM   #7
Master General ReEngineer
 
Bondo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chaumont River, Ny.
Posts: 3,833
Rewards Points: 2,300
Default

Ground prep for concrete


Quote:
I was wondering about the stump rotting, and I REALLY don't want to deal with that. Good news is the stump goes underground about 18 inches away from where the concrete ends.
Ayuh,.... It'll be Many Decades for it to rot away,... They're still diggin' stumps outa Ireland that are 1000s of years old....
Bondo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2012, 11:20 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Utah
Posts: 23
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Ground prep for concrete


Well I got most of the chips out. Frick that was a pain. Now on to the soil leveling and then in comes the gravel. I've been planning on renting the plate compactor from Home Depot to help out, but I read these aren't okay for soil compacting. Is that true? the top inch or two in the entire area is fairly loose from taking out the old concrete.

Also I did a quick measure, it looks like the deep end of the plot is about 10" inches under grade as it sits. The shallow end by eyeball is closer to 7". That's going to be a lot of gravel. Oh joy.
dclay79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 03:46 PM   #9
World's Tallest Midget
 
Mort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Methow Valley, WA
Posts: 793
Rewards Points: 542
Default

Ground prep for concrete


I don't see why you couldn't compact it with one of those, beats the hell out of doing it by hand. And yes that's a lot of gravel, but its cheaper than making your slab that thick.
Mort is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 07:20 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 228
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Ground prep for concrete


Compacting with a plate compactor is pretty typical - I used a plate compactor when I placed the 6" of stone under my patio and sidewalk.
__________________
Some advice you receive on the internet can be worth exactly what you paid for it - be careful.
stubborn1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2012, 09:11 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sarasota,Florida
Posts: 1,633
Rewards Points: 1,164
Default

Ground prep for concrete


Quote:
Originally Posted by dclay79 View Post
Well I got most of the chips out. Frick that was a pain. Now on to the soil leveling and then in comes the gravel. I've been planning on renting the plate compactor from Home Depot to help out, but I read these aren't okay for soil compacting. Is that true? the top inch or two in the entire area is fairly loose from taking out the old concrete.

Also I did a quick measure, it looks like the deep end of the plot is about 10" inches under grade as it sits. The shallow end by eyeball is closer to 7". That's going to be a lot of gravel. Oh joy.
The general rule is a plate compactor for sandy soil,and a jumping jack for clay.

Advertisement

Canarywood1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ground cover prep Startingover Landscaping & Lawn Care 2 06-24-2012 10:02 PM
To ground or not to ground Red Squirrel Electrical 2 10-14-2010 09:42 PM
Wiring an outlet using both ground screws instead of pig-tailing together. cabber24 Electrical 5 08-26-2010 09:40 AM
Electrical Ground Problem cabinetman Electrical 15 01-28-2010 05:55 PM
Live ground wire in dryer Retired sailor Electrical 10 05-04-2009 04:26 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts