DYI French Drain - Help Needed - Concrete, Stone & Masonry - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Concrete, Stone & Masonry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 04-09-2015, 04:17 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

DYI French Drain - Help needed

I have a 33 x 10 basement room that has a dirt floor. I am planning to pour a floor, but thought I'd put in a french drain before doing so. I called up a couple of waterproofing companies and they all quoted me a ridiculous amount of money. Given that I dont have any concrete on the floor yet, Im thinking of hiring a guy to help me with the labour and do the job myself. I thought I'd check in with the experts to see if I am thinking correctly through everything. FYI... I am a first time DYIer(& a new first time home owner), but I am an engineer by education, so do know how to think logically & understandand basic laws of physics.

I attached a picture of my room, and also a picture of how I think I'd lay down the drains for this room. Please let me know what you think, and if I have this thought out correctly.

So this is my plan-
  1. Dig a trench along the perimeter 1' away from the foundation walls? (is 1 ' away correct). I'd dig an extra 4 inches deeper(than what is on the plan) so as to leave space for a bed of stone.
    - The trench should have a pitch of 1" for every 10'. So I'll start with the top most point being on the wall opposite the Sump Pit and lay down the pvc with the lowest most point being in the sump pit.(see Basement plan drawing attached)
  2. Add landscape fabric in the trench and temporarily nail the cloth to the sides.
  3. Add 4" of washed 3/4" gravel in the trench and lay the pipe and add more gravel along the sides. Remove nails & cover the fabric.
    - I am also thinking of covering the pvc's with a landscape sock as a second layer of protection(dont know where to get this).