Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Concrete, Stone & Masonry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 09-22-2013, 03:27 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 79

Cutting concrete for man door

Hi guys

I have decided to put a man door in my basement, roughly 42" of concrete then 48" knee wall made of wood. I plan to build a header of triple 2x10's or 2 x12's and use studs on either side to rough frame the opening then buy a complete door/frame assembly and install it. The bottom if the concrete wall is about 2 feet below grade which I will have to dig out. My main concern is:

I will need to rent a hand held concrete saw to cut the foundation out, I have never used one before, so, anything to watch for ideas to make the job easier? Any input appreciated.

PS: building "above" door is a wood framed single story building, approx 800sq ft. (It's a small cottage)

n2omichael is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2013, 05:55 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 1,002

Depending on where you are at, there are services that will come out and make the saw cuts for you. Really not that expensive. Just make sure your mark out the cuts accurately and if anything, error on the side of being a hair larger than smaller.
Mike Hawkins

firehawkmph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2013, 05:58 PM   #3

Thanks Mike!

The problem is our cottage is on an island, accessible by ferry, but, trying to get anyone to come over from the mainland costs a fortune. )-;

So, I am probably stuck doing this one myself!
Old 09-22-2013, 08:57 PM   #4
Concrete & Masonry

Rewards Points: 2,026

If you decide to do it, I'd highly recommend renting an electric saw, or making darn sure you have excellent ventilation in that basement while cutting. The gas saws are all 2 stroke, and most rental places make sure the gas is mixed rich to ensure longer motor life. This leads to terribly excessive smoke/co2 concentrations in the basement.