Concrete In A Remote Location - Concrete, Stone & Masonry - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Concrete, Stone & Masonry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-03-2013, 03:04 PM   #16
MarginallyQualified
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 3,797
Rewards Points: 2,268
Default

Concrete in a remote location


Quote:
Originally Posted by kevindsingleton View Post
I'm considering building a picnic shelter with a concrete floor in the woods on my property.
Consider using a different material.

Advertisement

TarheelTerp is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 03:16 PM   #17
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 15
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Concrete in a remote location


Another thought...sometimes mix plants will have one or two smaller off road mix trucks that hold 4, 6, or 8 yards of mix. These much smaller trucks can get into some tight places. Some even have tracks instead of tires.
concreteman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 04:28 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sarasota,Florida
Posts: 1,633
Rewards Points: 1,164
Default

Concrete in a remote location


Quote:
Originally Posted by kevindsingleton View Post
Lots of great information, here. I guess I'll just have to call and see if they're too busy for my little order and to wait around while I tote it back into the woods.

I'm not sure if they can pump concrete up the pretty steep hills that surround the area where I need it. If the retarder allows for as much as four hours "open time", then I can certainly make the trip back and forth to accommodate that window.

The loader is rated for 800 lbs, so I'll have to gauge that and make concessions.

I'll be dumping it into a form for the slab and apron, and I'll have someone else doing the spreading, at least until I can kill the tractor and step into the mud, myself. That's what wives are for, right?

I'll ask about the ground line option. I'd gladly pay a little extra to save half a day on the project!

Thanks for all the great information!

Rather than using a concrete mixer,you may want to consider a concrete mobile unit,they can mix as much as your tractor bucket will hold and stop,that way there's no worry about wet concrete,and a retarder is not neccessary,but any way you choose it's going to be costly,because the waiting time will eat you up,don't know where you are but here you have 8 minutes per yard free time to unload,then waiting time starts at $2.00 per minute,or $120.00 per hour,you might want to reconsider using another kind of material.
Canarywood1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 08:59 PM   #19
Concrete & Masonry
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 2,795
Rewards Points: 2,142
Default

Concrete in a remote location


A small, line concrete pump would be nice, but their not that common in many area's. Around here, there's one company who has one, and it's just for their own use, they don't rent it out. If you want a pump, the smallest you're going to find is a 32 meter truck unit, at a minimum of $800, and it wouldn't be close to reaching anyways.

I'd consider renting/borrowing a bigger machine/tractor/skidloader if I were you. We have a special concrete bucket that fit's our skidloaders just for off-road jobs like this. I wouldn't suggest using it on such a small loader attachmnet, as the driver will inevitably over fill it, but if you can get something a little bigger, something like that would save a ton of time. Here's what it looks like:

Name:  loeg2.gif
Views: 87
Size:  19.2 KB
jomama45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 10:00 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: zentral Iowa
Posts: 1,269
Rewards Points: 624
Default

Concrete in a remote location


I have a trailer that I used to haul a 500 g water tank in. That amounts to 4000 lbs. I would fill it and dump with the 3 point.
cleveman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 11:51 PM   #21
World's Tallest Midget
 
Mort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Methow Valley, WA
Posts: 788
Rewards Points: 540
Default

Concrete in a remote location


If you have a mix-on-site company in the area, go for that. Sure, it'll be more expensive than if you could back a mixer right up to it, but it seems like the best option. A line pump would be overkill for a six yard pour, unless there is absolutely positively no other way to get concrete from one place to another.

You could also rent a couple mud buggies, they hold about 1/2 yard.
Mort is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2013, 06:01 AM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: atl & hilton head
Posts: 3,440
Rewards Points: 2,462
Default

Concrete in a remote location


mort, the motorized wheelbarrows're actually call'd ' georgia buggies ' here,,, ' mud buggies ' are something you find in maine OR washington during late august whilst vacationing at the lake

seems to me we've beat this thread to death,,, all's left is for a newbie to post ' get a helicopter ! '
stadry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2013, 11:47 AM   #23
World's Tallest Midget
 
Mort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Methow Valley, WA
Posts: 788
Rewards Points: 540
Default

Concrete in a remote location


Yeah, they're called Georgia Buggies here too, but I didn't know if that was a regional thing or what.
Mort is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2013, 12:06 PM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sarasota,Florida
Posts: 1,633
Rewards Points: 1,164
Default

Concrete in a remote location


As far as i know it's what they are called all over,even Hawaii and that go's back to the fifties,and probably longer.
Canarywood1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2013, 04:51 AM   #25
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: atl & hilton head
Posts: 3,440
Rewards Points: 2,462
Default

Concrete in a remote location


woody, I certainly don't wanna start talking about how we did things in the 40s & 50s but you 2 older fellows go ahead,,, it'll be fun watchin'
stadry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2013, 09:20 AM   #26
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Concrete in a remote location


Quote:
Originally Posted by TarheelTerp View Post
Consider using a different material.
Why?
8,9,10,11,12
kevindsingleton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2013, 11:57 AM   #27
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: atl & hilton head
Posts: 3,440
Rewards Points: 2,462
Default

Concrete in a remote location


maybe bark or crush'd stone but i don't think blacktop a good substitute UNLESS you've also got that equipment lying around & you know how to pave it

Advertisement

stadry is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to Calculate Store Bought Concrete Coverage by Bag Size Willie T How To Guides 9 11-29-2011 01:32 PM
Laminate Flooring on Two Different Concrete Heights mrken Flooring 4 12-14-2010 02:56 PM
New Concrete Walkway along side of house braverichard Building & Construction 0 11-03-2010 12:12 PM
How To Install Rigid Foam Insulation on Concrete earthad1 Building & Construction 9 10-26-2010 10:49 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts