Concrete Pad - Concrete, Stone & Masonry - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Concrete, Stone & Masonry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-10-2013, 10:22 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

concrete pad


I am getting ready to pour a slab for a dog kennel to sit on, the slab will be 11' x 21' 3 1/2" thick. The kennel is for my four dogs, and thier weight and that of the kennel is the only weight this slab will need to support. I am trying to do this as cheeply as I can. I am leveling the ground and going to put down some stone for a base, and i will be putting a drain in the middle of the pad so it can be cleaned easily. My question is do i need to use wire mesh or rebar for this project, my father-in-law insist we have to use wire mesh to keep it from craking and breaking apart

Advertisement

beanpad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2013, 11:03 AM   #2
Old School
 
Willie T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: St. Petersburg, FL Minds of moderate caliber ordinarily condemn everything which is beyond them.
Posts: 3,634
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

concrete pad


Control Crack grooving or cutting and good, thorough compacting of proper sub strata will be what takes care of those concerns, not the wire mesh. And almost no one puts in enough controled crack grooves, or in the logical places and directions. Most do it as decoration. And decent sub work and/or compacting is tough to find these days.

The purpose of wire mesh is to hold random intermediate cracks tight. Period. It does not stop the concrete from cracking. And this job is only effective if the wire is properly placed in the pour... and it almost never is.

Advertisement

__________________
"True eloquence consists in saying all that is necessary, and only that which is."
François Duc de La Rochefoucauld
Willie T

Last edited by Willie T; 06-10-2013 at 11:22 AM.
Willie T is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Willie T For This Useful Post:
beanpad (06-10-2013)
Old 06-10-2013, 11:29 AM   #3
Old School
 
Willie T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: St. Petersburg, FL Minds of moderate caliber ordinarily condemn everything which is beyond them.
Posts: 3,634
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

concrete pad


I've got a sidewalk in the rear of my house that I poured somewhere around 28 years ago. I put down no sub base, but I did compact the heck out of the ground.... AND I spaced grooved (done while wet) control cracks every two feet. No wire at all.

To this day, there is not one single crack to be found (visible.... because ALL concrete has tiny hairline fractures all through it... not just on the surface.) anywhere in the walk.
__________________
"True eloquence consists in saying all that is necessary, and only that which is."
François Duc de La Rochefoucauld
Willie T
Willie T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2013, 11:41 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

concrete pad


i personally didn't think it was necessary, the pad wont be subjected to any significant amount of weight. As a kid growing up I helped my father and my uncle pour several concrete pads that were subject to alot more weight then this pad will ever see, we didn't use rebar or wire mesh, we just packed the ground real good and put in a layer of gravel. the pads held up just fine.
beanpad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2013, 11:44 AM   #5
Old School
 
Willie T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: St. Petersburg, FL Minds of moderate caliber ordinarily condemn everything which is beyond them.
Posts: 3,634
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

concrete pad


It's often not weight that does in a slab, but climate extremes and changes.
__________________
"True eloquence consists in saying all that is necessary, and only that which is."
François Duc de La Rochefoucauld
Willie T
Willie T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2013, 11:50 AM   #6
Old School
 
Willie T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: St. Petersburg, FL Minds of moderate caliber ordinarily condemn everything which is beyond them.
Posts: 3,634
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

concrete pad


BTW, as a favor to your dogs, PLEASE don't put a "broom-finish" on that concrete. Trowel it nice and smooth. Would YOU like to walk and sleep on sandpaper?

Besides, it's much harder to clean a 'broom-finish".
__________________
"True eloquence consists in saying all that is necessary, and only that which is."
François Duc de La Rochefoucauld
Willie T
Willie T is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Willie T For This Useful Post:
beanpad (06-10-2013)
Old 06-10-2013, 11:57 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

concrete pad


we live in southeastern ohio, weather isn't too extreme
beanpad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2013, 12:03 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

concrete pad


the dogs will be kept in crates in a garage at night and i am also going to put up a runner so I an let them out to run and they wont be subjected to concrete all the time, eventually we are going to fence in the entire yard then i will be able to turn them all loose in the yard and the kennel will be used when we are in yard with family and/or friends
beanpad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2013, 07:06 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: atl & hilton head
Posts: 3,452
Rewards Points: 2,486
Default

concrete pad


semi-troweled finish works best,,, our military dogs walked, jumped, ****, & slept on broom finish'd conc,,, i don't EVER recall any dog having trouble going to sleep either at lackland afb dog school OR up in the the maryland mts,,, and added + is not paying a vet to trim fido's toenails .

far's wire mesh, it does have purpose: 1, it adds strength while the conc's in ' tension ' ( curing/shrinking ); 2, when it cracks randomly 'cause the jabonies didn't joint the slab properly, wire mesh holds the broken pieces together ; & 3, demolition is a bit** 'cause of the wire,,, to be properly set, mesh needs to be 1/2way in the vertical axis +/- 5% [ .2" ),,, according to aci, any steel reinforcement also needs 2" conc above & below it.

11' x 27' - 1 jnt down the middle of the 11' then divide the 27' into 5 equal pieces ( 4 jnts ) - each jnt @ LEAST 1" deep,,, that'll make each part approx 5'6" x 5'5" or thereabouts ( conc likes to be square ),,, no mesh - no rebar - wet the well-compacted soil base before placing.

just joint it properly & forget the mesh !!!!!!!!!!!!!

Last edited by stadry; 06-10-2013 at 08:33 PM.
stadry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2013, 08:35 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: atl & hilton head
Posts: 3,452
Rewards Points: 2,486
Default

concrete pad


while my bride, nagzilla, is out of town, we'll repl some sidewalk - 1pc is 3'6" x 24' - there'll be contraction jnts cut in every 3' - no wire mesh - no rebar - no nagzilla, either

Advertisement

stadry is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gap in concrete by corner of garage door jamb, intentional or not? daluu Concrete, Stone & Masonry 1 09-16-2012 06:23 PM
How to Calculate Store Bought Concrete Coverage by Bag Size Willie T How To Guides 9 11-29-2011 01:32 PM
Laminate Flooring on Two Different Concrete Heights mrken Flooring 4 12-14-2010 02:56 PM
New Concrete Walkway along side of house braverichard Building & Construction 0 11-03-2010 12:12 PM
How To Install Rigid Foam Insulation on Concrete earthad1 Building & Construction 9 10-26-2010 10:49 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts