Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Concrete, Stone & Masonry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-26-2013, 03:00 AM   #1
MarginallyQualified
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 3,663
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Chimney Crown


Two of the three clay flue liners were set too low...
they're flush with a too thin mortar crown.

What are the gotcha's to look out for with having the
top course of (50year old) brick removed in order to
provide enough depth for a proper crown?

The liners and caps come afterward.

Thanks.


Last edited by TarheelTerp; 12-26-2013 at 03:03 AM.
TarheelTerp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2013, 08:11 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,741
Rewards Points: 4
Default

Chimney Crown


I am not an expert in this field, but, assuming that it drafts properly, your solution sounds reasonable, to me. Before going there though, I would want to make sure that the existing flue height is in compliance. Again though, not an expert here, so although I am fairly certain of what code is in my area, I will leave it up to someone else to comment on, or you could check your local code yourself. And I am fairly certain that this can vary, depending on whether or not you are burning wood, so you may want to post the fuel source. After that, you want to use concrete, not mortar, allowing for at least 2" thick, sloped away from the flue, and with at least 1-1/2" to 2" overhang beyond the brick. I like to slope the bottom of the concrete that overhangs the brick as well, or otherwise incorporate a detail that causes water to break at the outside edge, as opposed to maintaining surface tension and running back to the brick.

DexterII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2013, 10:08 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 1,237
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Chimney Crown


It would be easier (and acceptable) to add more flue tile than to remove brick.
__________________
Advice is free, Lessons begin at 75 bucks an hour.
Tscarborough is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2013, 01:11 PM   #4
MarginallyQualified
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 3,663
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Chimney Crown


Quote:
Originally Posted by Tscarborough View Post
It would be easier (and acceptable) to add more flue tile than to remove brick.
hmmm...

For some reason that didn't seem possible earlier as I don't think I need more than what the caps require to be installed on.

With what I have now only the center of three clay liners
is higher than the too low crown ---___---| |---___---

That center flue is getting blocked off.

How much liner should be added to the other two above flush?
Are the tiles easy enough to cut clean (with proper tools)?

Thanks
TarheelTerp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2013, 01:59 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 26,357
Rewards Points: 34
Default

Chimney Crown


A ciruler saw with a diamond blade will cut them any length you want.
The more the better.
I'd cut them at least 6" long.
__________________
When posting in forums, letting us know your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joecaption For This Useful Post:
TarheelTerp (12-26-2013)
Old 12-27-2013, 02:16 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 1,237
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Chimney Crown


They can be as high as you want, but there needs to be 4" difference between the heights at a minimum. Normal flue tiles are 12" or 24", so get a 12" and cut it into an 8" and a 4".

__________________
Advice is free, Lessons begin at 75 bucks an hour.
Tscarborough is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to install chimney liner Rockford How To Guides 3 07-16-2012 04:15 PM
Why a Chimney Liner? Rockford HVAC 0 07-12-2012 10:03 AM
How To Install a Chimney Liner Rockford How To Guides 0 01-24-2012 10:00 AM
Water leak around chimney crown. desert-rat Building & Construction 2 12-27-2010 09:49 PM
Installing a new chimney crown ikessky Building & Construction 3 09-12-2010 09:54 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.