Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Concrete, Stone & Masonry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 07-29-2012, 05:28 PM   #1

Share |

Bow in concrete block foundation

hello,
quick question. how bad is this? it was repointed and sealed recently. i'm new to home inspections and don't want to freak out the client. they are freaked out enough as is. there are two pictures, one on the inside and one on the outside. improper backfill and drainage is my guess. the 2x4 on the wall was purposely kerfed and bent to fit the wall. the house is 57 yrs old. any help is greatly appreciated! thanks

neight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 05:46 PM   #2

Location: Minneapolis/St. Paul, Minnesota - Latitude 45.057 Longitude -93.074

As a Home Inspector, the appropriate thing you should do is point out (red flag) the deflection to your customer and leave the decision to him if this is a typical pre-purchase inspection.

It it obvious the problem is not new, but the patching and repairs/painting show the attempt to hide it. Some of the horizontal joints may have been cracked and patched. Suggest a Structural Engineer that is more qualified to give structural opinions and options.

Dick

concretemasonry is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to concretemasonry For This Useful Post:
neight (07-29-2012)
Old 07-29-2012, 05:50 PM   #3

thank you. that's exactly what i told him. i just wanted to make sure i'm not being over the top or, in the future, underestimating the problem.
Old 07-29-2012, 07:15 PM   #4

for anyone now, or in the future, that is wondering what is happening here...i found a pic of an identical situation. i would like to thank the fine folks at Structural Dynamics, Inc. http://www.structuraldynamics.com/concreteblock.php for posting this photo. please don't sue me.

Old 07-29-2012, 10:30 PM   #5

great foto
cleveman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2012, 05:49 PM   #6