Windows Too Thick For My Old House - Windows and Doors - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Windows and Doors

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-31-2015, 05:46 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 29
Rewards Points: 58
Default

Windows too thick for my old house


I can't believe it, but I ordered windows that are too thick for my house. The thickness of the old windows are 2 3/4" and the new ones are 3 1/4". As a result, I have about 1 3/8" sticking out from the house instead of 7/8", and this is definitely wider than the trim that I bought. Any suggestions?



-Jeff

Advertisement

jeffdoesrepairs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2015, 05:55 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Central Kentucky
Posts: 997
Rewards Points: 1,917
Default

Windows too thick for my old house


Unless it is something unusual, you will need to retrim the inside. The standard stud wall is 3.5 + drywall + outside siding.

Advertisement

__________________
Colbyt
I often use the Thanks button as a ditto button or +1 button.
Colbyt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2015, 06:15 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: B.C. Canada
Posts: 2,615
Rewards Points: 2,120
Default

Windows too thick for my old house


Vinyl Jambs are usually hollow and do not trim well.

Can we have a picture of the inside as well?
You can use some 1/2" material and then your brickmould on that on the outside.
Or slide your wdw in and a 1/2" material on the inside then your casing. Looks ok especially with thinner casing.
mae-ling is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to mae-ling For This Useful Post:
MT Stringer (05-31-2015)
Old 05-31-2015, 06:17 PM   #4
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 7,313
Rewards Points: 5,812
Default

Windows too thick for my old house


Quote:
Originally Posted by mae-ling View Post
Vinyl Jambs are usually hollow and do not trim well.

Can we have a picture of the inside as well?
You can use some 1/2" material and then your brickmould on that on the outside.
Or slide your wdw in and a 1/2" material on the inside then your casing. Looks ok especially with thinner casing.
I think colby was referring to "the trim" and not trimming the window casings.

Since he included measurements, I believe his suggestion is to move the windows inward and re-trim the openings.
nap is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to nap For This Useful Post:
mae-ling (05-31-2015)
Old 05-31-2015, 06:33 PM   #5
Member
 
kwikfishron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Kansas (NCK)
Posts: 8,596
Rewards Points: 3,272
Default

Windows too thick for my old house


I don't see what the problem is other than the new is slightly (1/2") thicker than the old (not an issue imo). 3 1/4" is pretty typical for a vinyl window. If the inside looks good then trim out the outside with whatever you want. Personally, I like the exterior trim to be proud of the window.
__________________
A Picture Is Worth A Thousand Words
Especially In The DIY Chatroom
kwikfishron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2015, 06:48 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 29
Rewards Points: 58
Default

Windows too thick for my old house


So I'm thinking I could just use some pressure treated 2x4s for the trim and it will be pretty dang close. It won't match the trim above it between the upper and lower siding pieces. Thoughts?

I can definitely cut back the drywall going up to the window to move it farther in if I wanted, its just more work with a multi-tool, and a bit of a mess. The ledge would be smaller when I put it in too.


jeffdoesrepairs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2015, 06:54 PM   #7
Member
 
kwikfishron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Kansas (NCK)
Posts: 8,596
Rewards Points: 3,272
Default

Windows too thick for my old house


Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffdoesrepairs View Post
I can definitely cut back the drywall going up to the window to move it farther in if I wanted,
Simple stuff, do what you need to do to make it look right for you. Sorry if the plug and play didn't work out. Welcome to the real world.
__________________
A Picture Is Worth A Thousand Words
Especially In The DIY Chatroom
kwikfishron is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to kwikfishron For This Useful Post:
mae-ling (05-31-2015)
Old 05-31-2015, 06:57 PM   #8
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 8,521
Rewards Points: 4,364
Default

Windows too thick for my old house


If it was me, I'd be removing the drywall on the inside. Drywall is not exactly a good thing to trim the inside of a window with. Even if your windows don't leak, you will get your greatest moisture next to the window.

If anything I would be wanting to pull it all off to inspect for any water damage.

And...I think it would be easier to flash the outside with the window flush. Unless it doesn't rain where you live, I think you are looking at some potential water leaks trying to flash that window the way it is.

I would install some flashing between the siding and the header and then install the window from the inside pushing the flashing out. And then flash it again...
__________________
Even if you are on the right track, you will still get run over if you just sit there.

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2015, 08:09 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: B.C. Canada
Posts: 2,615
Rewards Points: 2,120
Default

Windows too thick for my old house


By the looks of that drywall I would pull it all out, move the window in, then rip wood/plywood to the width needed and trim with casing on the inside.

But that is just me you can do it one of a million ways.

Leave it as is and use thicker brickmould, use the brickmould you have and fill in behhind with something. You get the idea.
mae-ling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2015, 10:35 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 29
Rewards Points: 58
Default

Windows too thick for my old house


Thanks guys, I used a multi-tool and removed 1/2" of drywall, and got everything flush. I just eyed it and ended up taking a bit too much out, so there is a larger gap than I need, but that is ok, I'll just end up using a lot of caulk. Here is a picture of the outside.

Cheers.

jeffdoesrepairs is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to jeffdoesrepairs For This Useful Post:
mae-ling (05-31-2015), Windows on Wash (06-01-2015)
Old 06-01-2015, 12:02 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: North Georgia
Posts: 327
Rewards Points: 625
Default

Windows too thick for my old house


I gotta be straight with you Jim, that inside trim looks like crap and it's going to get worse if you clean it up with caulk. You should tear off the sheetrock inside trim and do it right in a traditional style.
ChuckF. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2015, 02:12 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 29
Rewards Points: 58
Default

Windows too thick for my old house


It looks much better after it is painted, I just went over it with a hawk and trowel texture, and that is why it looks crappy. I've done this with other windows in the house and it ends up looking great. It is a cool venetian sort of texture style that looks great after some paint. I'll try to post some pictures once the ledges are done and everything is painted so you can see the finished product. Cheers

Advertisement

jeffdoesrepairs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
House on Crawl Space - Sagging Center Beam - Need Advise stevenrossi Building & Construction 8 12-23-2012 11:35 AM
Can you flash replacement windows with existing siding? twobyfour2 Windows and Doors 3 05-31-2011 09:29 PM
Installing nail fin windows - house wrap and t 111 siding DirtDog Remodeling 3 03-16-2011 11:59 PM
Windows XP Mode in Windows 7! poppameth PC Repairs & Upgrades 5 04-28-2009 12:18 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts