Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Windows and Doors

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-19-2014, 06:04 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 122
Share |
Default

Window Replacement: DIY'able?


I'm looking to replace this 45+ year old 36x26" aluminum window with a new vinyl window. I've never replaced a window before and figure this is as good a window as any to replace.

The going to assume that the wire is not to code. It goes from the switch below to an exterior light. I also assume that the window framing is actually that 1" cedar that goes all the way around. Is a recip saw the best way to remove this?

This is what I'm working with:

View from inside:



View from outside:


New replacement window:

RCGA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2014, 06:22 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 26,317
Default

Window Replacement: DIY'able?


What's outside for trim and siding?
Need a picture of the outside.
Wiring needs to rerun behind the sheetrock and stapled within 6" of the boxes.
Looks like you now have flat jamb windows.
What you bought is a new construction window.
Totally different style windows.

__________________
When posting in forums, letting us know your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2014, 06:23 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 122
Default

Window Replacement: DIY'able?


Quote:
Originally Posted by joecaption View Post
What's outside for trim and siding?
Need a picture of the outside.
Wiring needs to rerun behind the sheetrock and stapled within 6" of the boxes.
Looks like you now have flat jamb windows.
What you bought is a new construction window.
Totally different style windows.
2nd photo is from the outside
RCGA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2014, 07:46 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Central Illinois
Posts: 742
Default

Window Replacement: DIY'able?


That's not 1" cedar on the outside.It's brickmold.Looks like it was flush to the sheeting with the siding ran up to it and caulked.No wonder it all rotted.
Can't tell enough about the new window from the pic but think your going to have a hard time with it in this application.
mako1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2014, 07:54 PM   #5
Mod
 
kwikfishron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Kansas (NCK)
Posts: 7,424
Default

Window Replacement: DIY'able?


Did you order the correct size window? Or is this the one that's 2" short that you posted about in your other thread.

These little details are important.
__________________
A Picture Is Worth A Thousand Words
Especially In The DIY Chatroom
kwikfishron is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2014, 08:03 PM   #6
Mod
 
kwikfishron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Kansas (NCK)
Posts: 7,424
Default

Window Replacement: DIY'able?


Quote:
Originally Posted by joecaption View Post
What you bought is a new construction window.
Totally different style windows.
What does that matter? Cut the flanges off and it's a replacement window. I've had suppliers charge extra for no flanges. One minute to save $15.
__________________
A Picture Is Worth A Thousand Words
Especially In The DIY Chatroom
kwikfishron is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2014, 08:11 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 122
Default

Window Replacement: DIY'able?


Quote:
Originally Posted by kwikfishron View Post
Did you order the correct size window? Or is this the one that's 2" short that you posted about in your other thread.

These little details are important.
Sorry, yes, it's a 36x26 opening, and the the window is 36x24. I plan on building it up an extra 2"
RCGA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2014, 06:10 AM   #8
Exterior Construction
 
Windows on Wash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: VA, MD, DC
Posts: 6,194
Default

Window Replacement: DIY'able?


DIY'able to be certain if you have some carpentry skills.

Be sure to put in a drip cap.
Windows on Wash is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2014, 06:28 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 122
Default

Window Replacement: DIY'able?


There's a drip cap above, will I also need one directly above the window?
RCGA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2014, 09:16 AM   #10
Exterior Construction
 
Windows on Wash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: VA, MD, DC
Posts: 6,194
Default

Window Replacement: DIY'able?


It will probably get damaged in removal and replacement of that brick mold and it might be in the way of the flange reset the new unit.

You don't need one above the window and above the brick mold. Just put one above the brick mold.

Windows on Wash is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Windows on Wash For This Useful Post:
kwikfishron (06-20-2014)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how to secure replacement casement window tambo Windows and Doors 5 08-10-2012 11:49 AM
Old replacement window jsfoltz Windows and Doors 1 08-26-2011 07:27 PM
Window Replacement mark2741 Remodeling 5 07-21-2010 03:33 PM
How to 'finish' outside of replacement window? KatieAK Building & Construction 9 04-02-2010 06:37 AM
How to install Replacement window in 2x4 frame? BFD8 Remodeling 18 01-07-2009 11:56 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.