Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Windows and Doors

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 04-20-2012, 01:32 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Window repair...

Hello all,
I'm a newbie, 1st time posting. I am a Realtor & I have just sold son's home. Inspector stated that 3 double hung Weathershield windows need sash spring replaced. I assume that part is needed to keep windows up when opening...correct? The home built in 1998. Checked Weathershield catalogue...very confusing to me.
My question is estimated cost of repair...can part even be found on windows this old. Who to find for such a repair. These buyers have been so tough...many requests other than this...so estimated cost is important. These days buyers take you to the edge of the cliff on price...then want a perfect home!
I would appreciate any direction from all of you...son has been out of town and must respond by saturday so need info to see if he can afford the repair along with all other requests.

AnnsKlan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2012, 04:22 AM   #2
Too Short? Cut it Again!

Rewards Points: 2,000

Window repair...

I tried to look for what you need and found but confusion also. Clearly you are going to need the model number of the windows. See if there is a label somewhere on the back side of one of the casements. You might have to look for it from outside.

Sash springs usually look like tape measures and fit along the side of the window inside the frame. You have to pull the window apart to a point to get to them but it is not complicated to replace them.

However, in looking at some of the schematics for this brand of windows, you may just have the pressure/compression strip type casement retainers. You still have to pull the trim and casement windows out but they can just be pulled loose and new ones fitted.

You will have to caulk and repaint when you put the window unit back together.