Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Windows and Doors

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 08-22-2012, 05:08 AM   #1

Share |

Window install RO?

I'm new at this. Can I assume that a 24" X 36" window will fit into this RO?

Didymus21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2012, 06:04 AM   #2
Exterior Construction

Window install RO?

Might be a bit tight on the height if that window opening is out of square.

Should be more than fine on the width.

Windows on Wash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2012, 10:52 PM   #3
AHH, SPANS!!!

Window install RO?

The measurements may line up in the corners but the entire window RO square dimensions could be out of plumb/level and throw off the measurements by however much the RO framing is out of plumb/ level.
This is just an example- you set the window in the opening and the horizontal 2x4 it rests on is 3/8" higher on one side. To compensate and make the window sit level, it needs to be shimmed on the low side to bring it " up to level". Now, how does the top horizontal 2x4 compare to the "out of level" 2x4 at the bottom? The top could be "out of level" the opposite direction by 3/8". If you take the two 3/8" numbers and add them up it is 7/8" total. Now, all of that applies vertically as well, are both sides of the window opening plumb or not plumb?
That is an example but I've seen terrible window openings either framed wrong or settlement occurred in the walls/house.

A 2' ft level will help a lot to determine if house settlemnet has caused the window to become out of plumb / level. A trick I use is to cut a straight 2x4 that goes the entire distance in the corners of the opening both horizontal and vertically. A 2' or 4' level is then set against the 2x4 to determine level / plumb. the 2x4 also acts as a straight edge to help with finding dips and bumps.