Sash Cord Access Panels - Windows and Doors - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Windows and Doors

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-04-2012, 07:54 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Sash cord access panels


My house was built with no access panels to replace the sash cords. I want to cut access doors. It needs to be a nice, neat job because it is a beautiful stone house and the window frames are natural wood. Any suggestions of how to pull this off?

By the way, I've replaced lots of sash cords so i don't need help wit that. Just need to create access doors.

THANKS!
Kathleen

Advertisement

KZeren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2012, 08:34 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,646
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Sash cord access panels


a multi tool would probably be your best bet if you don't want to pull the casing off to get to them. it's the only thing i can think of that will make the cut without making a mess.

Advertisement

DannyT is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to DannyT For This Useful Post:
KZeren (09-04-2012)
Old 09-04-2012, 08:58 PM   #3
Haverhill Trade 1965
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 532
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Sash cord access panels


Most I have seen have a bevel on one end, or both, wide side out. If you cut a scrap with a 30 to 40 degree angle, screw it to the frame and use the angle to lay the blade on as a guide for the multi tool, ( we have been calling it a zippy tool), actually an oscillating saw I think. you may have to cut new doors if the they are too short because of the cut, (kerf).
Duckweather is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Duckweather For This Useful Post:
KZeren (09-04-2012)
Old 09-04-2012, 09:01 PM   #4
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,414
Rewards Points: 2,490
Default

Sash cord access panels


Are you sure that the panels are not just painted over? A lot, you have to pull the front stops, pull the window, and the panels are actually where the windows slide up and down along.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?

Last edited by gregzoll; 09-04-2012 at 10:01 PM.
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2012, 09:58 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Sash cord access panels


THANKS for the replies!

I'm sure the doors aren't painted over because they are not painted.

I don't want to remove the casing for fear of messing up the pretty natural woodwork. So the multi-tool idea and the double bevel cuts sound like the right idea. The guide sounds good for the angle but I don't want to screw anything to the natural wood. Guess I'll have to wing it.

I'll need to buy the tool and give this a try. Thanks again!
KZeren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2012, 10:02 PM   #6
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,414
Rewards Points: 2,490
Default

Sash cord access panels


The panels are there, you just have not looked good enough. Pictures help.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to gregzoll For This Useful Post:
KZeren (09-04-2012)
Old 09-04-2012, 10:05 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Sash cord access panels


Naw, no access panels. I've had some sashes out, even. It's hard to believe but the no-access panel windows are common 'round these parts. Grrrr... I've replaced lots of sash cords in my time. I need to cut doors this time.
KZeren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2012, 10:43 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: far sw sub chicago
Posts: 4,112
Rewards Points: 2,696
Default

Sash cord access panels


there are no doors on the old windows i am replacing.
Fix'n it is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2012, 08:29 AM   #9
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,414
Rewards Points: 2,490
Default

Sash cord access panels


As stated before, the panels are actually the rails that the windows ride along. You pull the stops, then you have to pull the windows to tie the cords and have them hang on the panels. Once you get those done, you can then pull the casings to get to the panels & remove, then pull the cords.

It is actually just easier to let the cords slip into the wells, then use retrofit units for the windows vs. trying to replace the sash cords on the weights.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2012, 08:33 AM   #10
Haverhill Trade 1965
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 532
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Sash cord access panels


Quote:
Originally Posted by KZeren View Post
THANKS for the replies!

I don't want to screw anything to the natural wood. Guess I'll have to wing it.

I'll need to buy the tool and give this a try. Thanks again!
Use a couple small brass oval head screws with trim ring I have seen a lot of original ones like that. I would advise a corded tool, they have more power and the hassle of the cord does not outweigh the small batteries and lower power, (because they always run out when you are at the top of a ladder).
Duckweather is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Duckweather For This Useful Post:
KZeren (09-05-2012)
Old 09-05-2012, 09:42 AM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Sash cord access panels


Thanks,
I'm curious to know about the "retro fit units" for the windows. Do you know a source?
Kathleen
KZeren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2012, 05:09 PM   #12
Haverhill Trade 1965
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 532
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Sash cord access panels


There are usually siding, roofing, window, suppliers. Around New England there is Harvey Industries, & Applicators Wharehouse. They usually deal with contractors so you have to set up a business cash account.
Duckweather is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Duckweather For This Useful Post:
KZeren (09-13-2012)
Old 09-05-2012, 07:43 PM   #13
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,414
Rewards Points: 2,490
Default

Sash cord access panels


Here is one version http://www.eaglewindow.com/getdoc/18...Sash-Kits.aspx another version http://www.trimlinewindows.com/ultrafit.asp

Advertisement

__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to gregzoll For This Useful Post:
KZeren (09-13-2012)
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Convert two panels in a duplex to one meter rsgrauer Electrical 1 09-05-2011 11:36 PM
14/3 Power Cord in conduit NotSoElectric Electrical 10 09-05-2011 10:40 AM
Where to get bathroom panels similiar to rebath? Side panels? twilightcall Remodeling 2 03-06-2008 10:19 AM
safe way to add extension to power cord sil Electrical 7 10-18-2007 10:58 PM
Do I have a 30 amp or 70 amp welder. And help wireing it. Tmb9862 Electrical 17 12-04-2006 10:21 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts