Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Windows and Doors

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 04-18-2012, 04:41 PM   #1

Share |

New construction windows for extreme weather

We are building a new home in Pennsylvania on the top of a mountain. I am my own GC (I've extensively remodeled our prior 2 homes and I develop commercial properties for a living so I know enough to be dangerous). I enjoy this forum and thought I'd join prior to breaking ground in May so that I can run ideas by the group. That being said, here's my first question...The design has a great room with approximately 500 sf of glass looking out over the valley facing directly in to the wind. For reference, there is a large wind farm on the next ridge over that has some of the highest sustained winds in the state. Both prior houses had Andersen windows (one I installed myself and the other were originals still in good shape after 20+ years). I have had no complaints at all with the Andersens but products change over time. My framing contractor for this project is great so I don't anticipate any installation issues. I am wondering if the Andersen 400 series will hold up against wind driven rain and snow or if there are other windows better suited to the project. I also am considering Marvin aluminum clad and possibly Marvin Integrity (fiberglass/wood). I want the wood interior so cannot consider any all fiberglass or all vinyl windows. Any thoughts on the above windows and any thoughts on aluminum vs vinyl, vs fiberglass clad windows in general would be greatly appreciated. Also, any other brand recommendations would be great. Thanks in advance for your help.

jmh2148 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2012, 06:47 PM   #2
Exterior Construction

Inline makes the most well designed fiberglass window in my opinion.