Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Windows and Doors

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 09-23-2012, 02:54 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Interior Window

Hello everyone,
I would like some advice since I am quite new to DIY around the house. I am moving in a new house (I am renting a room but I am allowed to do any modifications). At the present time the room has no windows and one entrance with no door. I am planning on repainting, adding a trim, installing a window and a door. The window will give onto a hallway which has a big sliding door across from where the window will be. My question is, in what order should I do it? I was thinking about:

1) Paint
2) Add window
3) Add door
4) Add trim

However, since I will be making a whole in a drywall to install the window I am not sure if I should paint the wall before installing the window or after.
Thank you in advance for your advice

DIYLoverKS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2012, 03:04 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 3,320

Interior Window

I think your going to be way over your head on this one.
I'd want to see it in writing from the owner before undertaking a job like that in someone elses house, especially since you have no DIY experiance.

joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2012, 03:53 PM   #3

Interior Window

Joecaption,
Where I plan on putting a window there was a door until recently and it got closed down with some drywall so I feel like it should be easier. I would not just cut a hole in a wall like that. The owner said it was ok to do it because otherwise the room really has no air flow. For the door, there is already a frame so it's just a question of fitting a door and installing it properly which I believe I can do with enough attention to detail. Any suggestions in terms of the order I should do things?
Old 09-23-2012, 03:58 PM   #4

Rewards Points: 3,320

Interior Window

What size is the pass though opening now?