Insulating Around Windows With Spray Foam (low Expanding) - Windows and Doors - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Windows and Doors

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 10-04-2012, 09:18 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 154

Insulating around windows with spray foam (low expanding)

I'm new at this so forgive me if I'm a little dense.

I just took the trim off to insulate around my windows with low expanding window & door spray foam. I had something in mind for what I was supposed to see but I'm not seeing it.

I expected to see shim space or a gap between two pieces of wood framing all around the window. I'm seeing a gap, but it's just around the outside of the frame and the drywall. Here's a couple of pictures.
Attached Thumbnails
Insulating around windows with spray foam (low expanding)-photo-1-.jpg   Insulating around windows with spray foam (low expanding)-photo.jpg  

Advertisement

strategery is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 10:28 AM   #2
Exterior Construction

Rewards Points: 3,292

That is pretty normal.

Sealing there does not address the leakage inside the wall but will help mitigate leakage behind the trim.

Advertisement

Windows on Wash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 02:34 PM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Windows on Wash
That is pretty normal.

Sealing there does not address the leakage inside the wall but will help mitigate leakage behind the trim.
Would you recommend that I insulate this with foam or is it ok? Is this a major source of air leakage?
Old 10-04-2012, 02:38 PM   #4
Exterior Construction

Rewards Points: 3,292

Foam can't hurt.
Windows on Wash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 03:23 PM   #5
Home Performance

Rewards Points: 590