Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Windows and Doors

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-02-2013, 07:28 PM   #1
Member
 
bryanp22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Milwaukee WI
Posts: 414
Rewards Points: 250
Default

How to remove sash with bronze track


I need to reglaze my windows this year. How do I remove the sash when it has a bronze track? Would I just reglaze with the sash still installed then?
Attached Thumbnails
How to remove sash with bronze track-image-3376281905.jpg  

bryanp22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 08:00 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 27,123
Rewards Points: 3,364
Default

How to remove sash with bronze track


Why not just go for replacement windows?
No more glazing, sanding, priming, painting, clean the windows from inside the house, and save money on HVAC from then on.

__________________
When posting in forums, letting us know your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 08:43 PM   #3
Member
 
bryanp22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Milwaukee WI
Posts: 414
Rewards Points: 250
Default

How to remove sash with bronze track


Right now glazing is cheaper and I like the look of wood windows. I don't think my utility bills are that high either so I can't really cost justify new windows.
bryanp22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 07:15 AM   #4
Exterior Construction
 
Windows on Wash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Washington DC Metro Area (VA, MD, DC)
Posts: 6,706
Rewards Points: 2,686
Default

How to remove sash with bronze track


Most wood window will require the removal of the interior stop to access and remove the sash.
Windows on Wash is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 07:45 AM   #5
Member
 
bryanp22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Milwaukee WI
Posts: 414
Rewards Points: 250
Default

How to remove sash with bronze track


But with that bronze track even if I remove the stop it will still be impossible to remove without ruining the bronze track. Can I buy new bronze somewhere?
bryanp22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 08:20 AM   #6
Home Performance
 
HomeSealed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Milwaukee,WI
Posts: 1,451
Rewards Points: 536
Default

How to remove sash with bronze track


Your best bet is to do it with them in place IMO. The track would pretty much get destroyed in removal. It can be replaced, you are also taking the chance of breaking the glass or damaging the sash in removal.

__________________
Replacement Windows, doors, siding, roofing, insulation, and certified energy consulting.
www.HomeSealed.com
HomeSealed is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how to remove timer box for hallway lights at apartment building mikael6 Electrical 3 01-16-2013 08:31 AM
What is the best way to remove this tiling and how much to remove? wknddiy Tiling, ceramics, marble 6 12-03-2012 09:09 PM
Remove laminate backsplash georgioltd Remodeling 4 10-17-2012 06:56 AM
Floor Track Stuck Under Wall mamabear Flooring 5 10-02-2012 10:20 PM
Screw in Track Lighting Bar Popping Out SueC456 General DIY Discussions 5 03-13-2007 07:24 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.