Help!!!! Installing Windows Side By Side...we Need Lots Of Advice!! - Windows and Doors - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Windows and Doors

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 07-15-2012, 07:05 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Help!!!! Installing windows side by side...we need lots of advice!!

We are currently working on refurbishing a 1950s house. We have already installed all of the new replacement windows and are stuck on the front windows. Please forgive me if i am using the wrong terminology as I am very new to this. I am going to try and attach a picture of the current front windows and then a picture of the new windows. We already purchased them and HAVE to make it work. We have been reading some debate over mulled windows and unmulled. Not sure that we want to figure out how to use a kit and mull them ourselves or even take them to get mulled. So we are ok with having a larger gap between them or any other option. The new windows are new construction and have the nail flanges around the outside just like the picture i attached. We just need framing advice and any other advice you may have. Thank you soooo much!!
Attached Thumbnails
Help!!!! Installing windows side by side...we need lots of advice!!-image-2431352327.jpg   Help!!!! Installing windows side by side...we need lots of advice!!-image-1172858658.jpg  

Advertisement

domano0775 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 08:00 PM   #2
Exterior Construction

Rewards Points: 3,254

Mull kits are not complex.

You have either and "H" mull or a zero mull clip.

Who is the manufacturer of the windows.

If those openings were larger, I would be more inclined to support that opening on the jambs with some additional framing but that is a small'ish opening for a twin or triple double hung and the presence of a nailing flange mean that it will be well supported the full perimeter.

Advertisement