Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Windows and Doors

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-25-2013, 10:24 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 79
Share |
Default

Garage door opener cant open


When I have the garage door unattached the motor will run smooth. Once attached it seems like the motor can't handle the weigh of the door. I just bought this house and I assume it worked before since it was installed by some company. I can't find any knobs anywheres since it is an old garage door opener.
johnsorious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2013, 10:39 PM   #2
Member
 
CitadelBlue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 90
Default

Garage door opener cant open


Sounds like either a weak or broken spring ....

How hard is it to move the door up and down / open and close by hand ?
CitadelBlue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2013, 10:55 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 24,501
Default

Garage door opener cant open


Should be able to lift the door with one hand and if you stop it any place you should be able to let it go and it stays there.
__________________
When posting in forums, letting us know your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2013, 09:01 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 79
Default

Garage door opener cant open


Quote:
Originally Posted by CitadelBlue
Sounds like either a weak or broken spring ....

How hard is it to move the door up and down / open and close by hand ?
It's fairly easy and where is the spring? There's multiples ones
johnsorious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2013, 11:23 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Southeastern MA
Posts: 1,205
Default

Garage door opener cant open


Depending upon your garage setup, you could have one big torsion spring that runs from left to right over the garage door. Or, you could have a spring that runs front to back on each door track.

Since the door moves easily, look to see if the opener carriage is binding as it is moving the door up/down.
__________________
Dan
djlandkpl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2013, 04:41 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 79
Default

Garage door opener cant open


Quote:
Originally Posted by djlandkpl View Post
Depending upon your garage setup, you could have one big torsion spring that runs from left to right over the garage door. Or, you could have a spring that runs front to back on each door track.

Since the door moves easily, look to see if the opener carriage is binding as it is moving the door up/down.
Thank you, I adjusted the tension on the spring and the door opens great now. Can anyone recommend a garage door opener remote for me? The one that I have now is just really old. Attached are some photos of it. I'm not sure what brand it is.
johnsorious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2013, 04:53 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 79
Default

Garage door opener cant open


My house was built in 1970 and I imagine this opener is that old if not a little newer. Is there any newer remotes that I can program to work with this opener? The one I have is beaten up.
Attached Thumbnails
Garage door opener cant open-photo-1.jpg   Garage door opener cant open-photo-2.jpg  
johnsorious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2013, 05:24 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Southeastern MA
Posts: 1,205
Default

Garage door opener cant open


You need a universal remote replacement.

http://www.lowes.com/pd_243495-38782...ies&facetInfo=
__________________
Dan
djlandkpl is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to djlandkpl For This Useful Post:
johnsorious (06-26-2013)
Old 06-26-2013, 06:47 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 79
Default

Garage door opener cant open


Quote:
Originally Posted by djlandkpl View Post
You need a universal remote replacement.

http://www.lowes.com/pd_243495-38782...ies&facetInfo=
how do I program the universal remote to the existing motor?
johnsorious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2013, 07:01 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Southeastern MA
Posts: 1,205
Default

Garage door opener cant open


Quote:
Originally Posted by johnsorious View Post
how do I program the universal remote to the existing motor?
It's two parts a transmitter and a receiver. The transmitter is the remote you take with you. The receiver gets mounted near the garage door opener and is wired to the same contacts on the motor as the wall switch. When you operate the remote, the receiver completes the circuit and triggers the opener.
__________________
Dan
djlandkpl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2013, 08:12 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 79
Default

Garage door opener cant open


Quote:
Originally Posted by djlandkpl View Post
It's two parts a transmitter and a receiver. The transmitter is the remote you take with you. The receiver gets mounted near the garage door opener and is wired to the same contacts on the motor as the wall switch. When you operate the remote, the receiver completes the circuit and triggers the opener.
Alright! Thanks for you help.

Please close this thread.
johnsorious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2013, 09:00 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 5
Default

Garage door opener cant open


Have a craftsman opener open the door with the door button went to close it and nothing tried remote nothing its like their is no power to the unit except the door sensors are lite nothing else lights up not even the over head lights on the motor or the learn button.
ptlandscape is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2013, 08:24 AM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 79
Default

Garage door opener cant open


When my garage door opens is it supposed to hit the motor to stop? Every time I opened and close it the chain rattles when the door stops in the open or close position. This causes my chain to loosen up so I have to adjust it every couple days...
johnsorious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2013, 09:39 AM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Southeastern MA
Posts: 1,205
Default

Garage door opener cant open


Quote:
Originally Posted by johnsorious View Post
When my garage door opens is it supposed to hit the motor to stop? Every time I opened and close it the chain rattles when the door stops in the open or close position. This causes my chain to loosen up so I have to adjust it every couple days...
No, it's not. There should be some adjustment screws on the motor housing to let you set the open and close stops.
__________________
Dan
djlandkpl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2013, 11:41 AM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 79
Default

Garage door opener cant open


Quote:
Originally Posted by djlandkpl

No, it's not. There should be some adjustment screws on the motor housing to let you set the open and close stops.
The opener I have is really old. I imagine from the 90s or even before. I can't find any adjustment knobs anywheres.
johnsorious is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Subfeed to New House from Existing Garage??? scuba.man Electrical 2 06-21-2012 07:54 AM
Wiring Garage Sconces paredown Electrical 1 03-28-2012 03:08 PM
Garage door hard to open bucksone General DIY Discussions 4 01-02-2010 06:44 PM
Garage Wiring issues jimmyfloyd Electrical 20 06-08-2009 02:57 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.