Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Windows and Doors

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-11-2012, 12:12 PM   #1
Thumb Banger
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Saugerties, New York
Posts: 19
Share |
Default

Exterior window trim - necessary?


Possibly Stupid Question alert;

Do I need it? I just put in an Anderson 400 series double wide window and I'm reusing the aluminum siding I took off for other repairs. If I'm not concerned about appearances (matching the other windows which are circa 1956 aluminum with 2" wood brickmold and a bullnose) do I need exterior trim or can I just use J channel?

I was replacing the siding when I realized I might have to trim it out. If I do, do I have to make it out of five quarter? Can I buy a bullnose? I have no clue. I used to know many years ago, but I forget more than I ever knew.

scroff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 01:13 PM   #2
DIY staff
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 21,489
Default

Exterior window trim - necessary?


You could add J channel and side up to it--

I'm not a siding guy--but that is the way it is done around here.

__________________
New members: Adding your location to your profile helps in many ways.--M--
oh'mike is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to oh'mike For This Useful Post:
scroff (09-11-2012)
Old 09-11-2012, 03:07 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 26,248
Default

Exterior window trim - necessary?


Posting a picture of what it is you have now to would be a big help to figure what you need to do.
No clue why you would use bull nosed anything when trimming out a window.

Are you adding new siding over old wooden siding?
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joecaption For This Useful Post:
scroff (09-11-2012)
Old 09-11-2012, 03:12 PM   #4
paper hanger and painter
 
chrisn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Hagerstown MD
Posts: 6,715
Default

Exterior window trim - necessary?


Quote:
Originally Posted by scroff View Post
Possibly Stupid Question alert;

Do I need it? I just put in an Anderson 400 series double wide window and I'm reusing the aluminum siding I took off for other repairs. If I'm not concerned about appearances (matching the other windows which are circa 1956 aluminum with 2" wood brickmold and a bullnose) do I need exterior trim or can I just use J channel?

I was replacing the siding when I realized I might have to trim it out. If I do, do I have to make it out of five quarter? Can I buy a bullnose? I have no clue. I used to know many years ago, but I forget more than I ever knew.

Don't feel bad, you're not alone
chrisn is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to chrisn For This Useful Post:
scroff (09-11-2012)
Old 09-11-2012, 09:45 PM   #5
Thumb Banger
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Saugerties, New York
Posts: 19
Default

Exterior window trim - necessary?


Thanks for your replies. This is all part of a larger project that started with rot behind a chimney. I took the chimney down and reframed about a 4 foot wide section of wall from the bottom sill to the roof. I took off most of the old aluminum siding. While it was off I bought a double wide Andersen window and put it in the master bedroom. Now I'm putting the old siding back on. The other windows that are left are old aluminum windows that have 2" brickmold on the sides and a bullnose underneath. I wouldn't really call it a sill because it isn't part of the window but sits underneath. So now I'm putting the old siding back on, and couldn't remember if I needed to trim out the new window, and if I did I wanted it to match the old window style. After Oh'mike's reply I went around to the front of the house, where there are newer, similar Andersen windows, and all they have is the J channel. So, considering I'm going to eventually replace all the old aluminum windows, I don't have to trim them out, I just have to use J channel.

That's my story and I'm sticking to it. All I have left after this is to finish the inside, just in time for winter.
scroff is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hardwood Flooring install around this trim? Cmudr1 Flooring 4 01-31-2013 10:29 PM
New Roof but Fascia Trim Board Rotting ein0801 Roofing/Siding 6 07-15-2012 12:21 AM
What trim is more water resistant and holds paint better: Miratec or Smart Trim? Studly Building & Construction 4 10-03-2009 07:45 AM
Removing latex paint from wood trim ulbass Painting 1 03-12-2009 01:19 PM
Interior Door Trim (am I the only one that does this?) javan Carpentry 17 08-14-2008 03:19 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.