Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Windows and Doors

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 08-17-2012, 09:38 AM   #1
MTW

Share |

Exterior Door leaks at bottom corner of sidelight

Hello - I am not sure this is the right place to post. I have attached pictures for your reference. I have an exterior door with 2 sidelights. I have been battling a small leak off and on for several years. If we get a hard wind-driven rain, the door will leak in the bottom left corner of the unit (not at the opening of door itself but under the sidelight between the frame of the house and the floor). The frame of the house gets damp as well as 2 wood pieces underneath the door unit. It does not leak enough to drip into the sill pan.

2 people have looked at the door and cannot find a reason why it leaks. It has been caulked more times than I can tell you and one of the guys said the flashing was fine. It has had new weatherstripping, new sweep, I have adjusted the threshold, messed with the hinges and strikeplate.

It does not leak enough to go underneath to the basement, but I am concerned over time that the wood getting damp will lead to rot. Any ideas would be appreciated! We have thought about getting a storm door, but I want to know if you all think that would solve the problem. Or, if the problem is higher up. The door has no cover and regularly gets sun and rain.

Thanks for the help!

Last edited by MTW; 02-19-2013 at 09:00 PM.
MTW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2012, 09:48 AM   #2

By sill pan do you mean one like this?
http://jamsill.com/

Can you open the door so we can see a picture of what type threshold you have?
Also a close up of where the bottom of the aluminum threshold sits on the brick.

One thing I've done where those side lights are is to add a piece of vinyl cove moulding set in a bed of caulking to help devert the water away from the the bottom of the panel.