Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Windows and Doors

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 11-28-2011, 09:09 PM   #1

Share |

Casement Windows - Best Design

Is it true that by design, casement windows provide the best overall wind & air resistance for a window that opens? With single and double hung windows coming in 2nd and 3rd and then sliders coming in at last place.

Every slider I came into contact with LEAKED when it rained heavy. The water would build up in the channels and it couldn't drain fast enough thereby causing the water to spill inside of the home onto the wall. Plus sliders let in a TON of air through the track. You can actually feel the breeze.

JackOfAllTrades is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2011, 05:23 AM   #2

I'm not a window expert, but I just had my leaky, ugly sliders replaced with casements. My very trusted window installer has casements

Easier to clean because you can reach your arm through the gap when fully open and there is no framing messing up your view

creeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2011, 06:47 AM   #3

Your assessment is correct. Actually, a slider is just a DH turned on its side, but slopier. Independent tests show just what you said.
Just Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2011, 09:15 AM   #4
Exterior Construction

Quote:
Originally Posted by JackOfAllTrades View Post
Is it true that by design, casement windows provide the best overall wind & air resistance for a window that opens? With single and double hung windows coming in 2nd and 3rd and then sliders coming in at last place.

Every slider I came into contact with LEAKED when it rained heavy. The water would build up in the channels and it couldn't drain fast enough thereby causing the water to spill inside of the home onto the wall. Plus sliders let in a TON of air through the track. You can actually feel the breeze.
Very true.